WeWriWa—Common interests

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors and Snippet Sunday, weekly Sunday hops where writers share 8–10 sentences from a book or WIP. This week’s snippet comes immediately after last week’s, as first-year NYU art student Igor Konev has gone to meet the woman with sexy feet and discovers her hair is just as alluring. He asks if she minds company, and they finally have the first proper meeting of their lives. Igor and Violetta met a few times as children, but they never had a reason to become friends, since they lived in different states.

1ee8d222b40c2c6758aacb3b18b080fd

She turns around, revealing very large, deep brown eyes and a face without any makeup. “Who are you?  Have we met?”

“I’m sorry to disturb you, but I noticed you drawing, and I’m an art student.  Maybe we can exchange ideas about subjects and techniques.  I also think it’s really swell how you’re a southpaw.  I am too.  You don’t find very many left-handed women, or at least I don’t.  Please, may I sit down?  I really enjoy meeting other southpaws and art students.”

13 comments on “WeWriWa—Common interests

  1. Being left handed myself, really enjoyed the snippet! A nice little moment….

    Like

  2. Aw, he’s so polite, how can she resist? Having a chat with him can’t hurt anything.

    Marcia

    Like

  3. Art and left-handedness in common? I like his chances. 🙂

    Like

  4. Ed Hoornaert says:

    I kinda get the feeling he’s reaching for some opening to approach her. I hope it works out for him.

    Like

  5. astonwest says:

    Go with the left-handedness, because talking about your feet might be a bit awkward. Good snippet.

    Like

  6. Jenna Jaxon says:

    He’s a little eager, but very earnest, so perhaps she’ll give him a chance. Can’t wait to discover they know one another!

    Like

  7. Good opening. I like his chances.

    Like

  8. That’s a mad rush of words he’s throwing at her in an attempt to get that yes. Perhaps it will work, though.

    Like

  9. P.T. Wyant says:

    He seems nervous. I hope she finds that endearing, not desperate.

    Like

  10. I never heard the term southpaw before! I guess you’ve got to look for whatever connections you can when you’re keen to get to know someone 🙂

    Like

  11. Who could pass up a guy who sounds so excited to you? Great snippet. 🙂

    Like

  12. “Really swell…” Wow! Now there’s a saying I haven’t heard in a long time like that! He is definitely starting to ramble in nervousness. I wonder how she’ll react.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

