IWSG—Poor wordcounts continue

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

The Insecure Writer’s Support Group convenes the first Wednesday of every month, and lets participants share their worries, insecurities, triumphs, hopes, and fears.

I decided to take part in JuNoWriMo again after all, knowing I’d mostly be doing creative non-fiction in the form of blog posts. For most of the month, I doubted I’d crack 10K, and then I decided I’d consider it a win if I got 15K.

My total was embarrassingly low by my standards, though I didn’t have a desk for almost the entire month, coupled with stress, moving (NOT to my desired location!), and having very little privacy.

I set my July Camp NaNo goal even lower, a mere 10K. Not only are those other factors continuing, but some me-me-me jerk ruined my car on July first when I was on my way to synagogue. (Unfortunately, I’m trapped in a housing development in suburbia, and thus no longer have the option of walking to shul.)

This jerk zoomed right into my lane and tore the entire front bumper clear off. It’s a miracle no one ran into it after it flew into the road. He claimed he thought there was plenty of space to get in front of me, though he was right next to my car and squeezing me out of my lane!

I can’t believe my ten-and-a-half-year-old car survived a journey of over 900 miles from NY to SC, only for some negligent driver to get me into an accident a month later.

I went to a used bookstore recently, and finally found a much more updated translation of The Divine Comedy and La Vita Nuova. The hardcover in the back (which was cheaper) is an older version, but I loved that it has the classic Gustave Doré woodcuts.

My first and foremost literary idol and inspiration will always be my favorite writer, Aleksandr Isayevich Solzhenitsyn, but Dante is a very close second place. His intense otherworldly journey, a reflection of how he’d lost the way in his own life, is a constant reminder to me that no matter how far we fall, how badly we’re lost, there’s always hope of finding our way out of that dark forest and towards “the Love that moves the Sun and the other stars.”

*******************************

I’m trying to work on my fourth Russian historical, A Dream Deferred: Lyuba and Ivan at University, for my July Camp project. I wish I’d begun it right when the passion struck and I wrote out my rough draft of chapter-by-chapter notes in the summer of 2015, instead of saving it for that year’s NaNo, but it is what it is.

Hopefully, the first draft will finally be finished within two more years. I did spend eight and a half years on my first Russian historical, over three major working periods, and then took about three and a half more editing, revising, and polishing it a decade later. I’ll be doing some more light revisions on it in the near future, to go along with an updated cover.

How has your summer been treating you in regards to writing or life?

9 thoughts on “IWSG—Poor wordcounts continue

  1. After reading “Doctor Zhivago” and “Anna Karenina,” and falling asleep during half a dozen productions of “The Cherry Orchard,” I’ve decided that I’m done with Russian literature. You’re a better man than I am, Gunga Din!

    Like

  2. I don’t expect to get a lot done this summer, but July is my best chance with my girls in a camp from 9 to 1 on weekdays. Minus driving time, that give me a little over three hours on those days. Hopefully I will use that time wisely.

    Sorry to hear about your car. I moved up to NY after living in SC and NC all my life and I’ve found NY drivers crazier than the southern drivers for the most part.

    Like

  3. You know, our new car lasted 3 days in NYC before someone anonymously left and nice ding in the side. Yay. I definitely drive differently after having lived there, and that includes having much less trust in everyone else on the road. =)

    Like

  4. This hasn’t been the best few months for you, has it? Relocation is always a bit upsetting, even when it’s to a desired location, so I’m imagining the stress of it while heading to an undesired one. Sorry about the car and the idiot. Accidents like that are complications we don’t need. Hope your word count rises and your Dante soothes some of those worldly cares.

    Like

  5. Sorry about your car. I hope that jerk of a driver will get what he deserves.
    And moving too. My mom always said that moving houses is comparable to a natural disaster. And still, you write. You’re a champion.

    Like

  6. Sorry about your car but fortunately everyone is okay. I know how you feel, I got into three accidents last year, none of which were my fault (and it’s not just me saying that, the police and the insurance company agreed with me)! I think all those accidents have given the car it’s own special kind of personality. 🙂

    And hey, doesn’t that say you hit 18K words? If you were doubting you would break 10K, that sounds like a win!

    July IWSG

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

