Vintage summer food ads and recipes

Owing to the holiday weekend, when many people won’t be reading blogs anyway, I decided to put together another post featuring vintage ads. These ones include magazine recipes for things that would work really well at a Fourth of July party or picnic.

And if you’re wondering, just about all ads from pre-1977 are public domain. It annoys me so much when I see an awesome vintage ad has someone’s URL or logo on it, as though that person is the copyright holder. That’s not their own creative work, and even if they bought or own a physical copy, that’s still not the only one in existence!

What person with a sweet tooth could resist this?

March 1966. I’d prefer if the green were mint instead of lime, but I’m sure it still tastes awesome.

I’d totally make these with kosher and vegan gelatin!

I’m well aware of the fact that Kool-Aid is sugary crap without any nutritional value, but we can’t avoid junk food and drinks all the time.

I love grape pop.

I’ve never been a marshmallow fan, not even of kosher marshmallows. I just don’t like the texture.

1949, when you could still buy things for all of five cents.

Even knowing the role inflation and currency value pay in prices, that still looks like a great deal.

From the 1940s. Canned meat made sense when many people in rural areas didn’t have modern refrigerators.

1952

1955, the only kind of mustard I like. It’s dark yellow for me all the way!

Happy Fourth of July!

3 thoughts on “Vintage summer food ads and recipes

  1. Well, I’m reading blogs this morning, the out on a hike to consider the 4th and what it means to me. These are amazing ads from the past. I see heart disease in almost every ingredient. 🙂

    Like

  2. Some of these look pretty tasty. Maybe I’ve been too much into the vintage scene.

    Totally agree about the copyright issue. Most of the vintage images posted on blogs weren’t created by the person posting it, therefore they don’t own the copyright. They just found the items. The commentary posted is the site owner’s – not the images themselves.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

