Vintage summer dessert ads

Due to just having moved (NOT to my desired, permanent future home!), this week I once again don’t have time to put out the number and typical in-depth type of posts I usually do. Hopefully I’ll soon be back to my normal schedule! In the meantime, enjoy these vintage ads for summer desserts.

From April 1967

1961

Sometime in the 1960s

1940s menu and prices for an ice-cream parlor

1950

1956

1953

1954

1957

1950

1960s ice-cream menu

Do you have a favorite summer dessert or drink? Do you miss any ice-cream companies who’ve gone out of business? Any fond memories of a particular ice-cream parlor or truck you always went to in the summer? Do you prefer the established ice-creams and frozen treats or modern novelties?

6 comments on “Vintage summer dessert ads

  1. Now I want ice cream. A 7Up float sounds good.
    Good luck with the move! See you Wednesday for IWSG post day.

    Like

  2. cleemckenzie says:

    I find it fascinating that each era has its distinct style. You can glance at an ad and know which decade it came from. These were great. Happy adjusting to your new place.

    Like

  3. Arlee Bird says:

    When I head off on our vacation this year I’m going to visit at least one Dairy Queen along the way. They closed my local Dairy Queen a few years ago and I don’t know if there is another very close to me. Texas has them everywhere.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  4. Olga Godim says:

    This was torture. Now I need to go and buy ice cream. I want Dairy Queen, but they closed our neighborhood location last year, and the closest one is downtown, 40 min by bus. Maybe a trip downtown is in order.

    Like

  5. Ed Hoornaert says:

    There’s goes my diet. I gained half a pound just reading.

    Like

  6. always loved those vintage cones.

    joy @ The Joyous Living

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

