IWSG—Lagging productivity

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

The Insecure Writer’s Support Group convenes the first Wednesday of the month. Participants share their worries, insecurities, triumphs, hopes, and fears. I forgot to post last month, due to A to Z taking precedence, and travelling to NYC for my rabbi’s oldest daughter’s wedding.

This month, the IWSG question is:

What is the weirdest/coolest thing you ever had to research for your story?

I absolutely love research! Special favourites include vintage clothes, advertisements, childbirth, food, and slang. I also love looking at street maps to see where everything is in my settings. Other topics include what it’s like to be an amputee, Orthodox Christianity, and 1940s prosthetics.

After realising all my Russian male characters would’ve been uncircumcised, I did secondhand research on what it feels like to have intercourse with a guy like that. I wanted that level of authenticity in my sex scenes.

I technically won Camp NaNo, but this is NOT my best work. My productivity levels are normally so much higher. I had to lower my goal from 50K to 35K to 20K, and only broke even on Day 23. There were a few days early on when I didn’t write at all, though I still took screenshots of each day’s final progress when I did write. I like having that record.

Mitigating factors included the eight days of Pesach, my flagging mental health, my wrecked sleep cycles, and starting to make plans to move home to Pittsburgh against my parents’ insistence I join them in South Carolina for a few months. I’ve been stuck in this unhealthy holding pattern for far too long, and even my 17-year-old spider plant Kalanit is suffering.

I’m really unhappy with an unplanned subplot regarding Katya and Dmitriy’s new friends Dagmara (Marusya) and her husband Sima (Zosim). It started out so well, but developed far too quickly, and feels detached, like it’s just dumped in there instead of naturally-connected. It also feels very deus ex machina, in spite of its great potential.

When I read back over my first Russian historical in 2011, nine years after I’d last had access to it, I was so impressed at how expertly I’d woven all these storylines together and then finally linked them all up. The stories of the orphanage girls (esp. the Lebedeva sisters and Inessa) and Lena Yeltsina’s family are an integral part of the overall story, not just thrown in there every few chapters without any lead-in or foreshadowing.

However, I’m a lot happier with one of my other unplanned secondary characters, former Marine Captain Nestor Sevastyanovich Ugolnikov. I originally planned to give him to Bogdana Sheltsova, but then I realised he’s a much better match with Yustina Yeltsina-Baronova. But first, he has to overcome his belief that no woman would want a guy who’s missing a leg.

(FYI: You NEVER call someone “an ex-Marine”! It’s always “former Marine.” Semper fi means something!)

I also finally have a new cover for Little Ragdoll. My artist kept it based on the original reference photo. There was an odd technical issue, where Amazon wouldn’t accept the cover’s size, and the enlarged files she sent me kept being read as too small and the same size as before. I finally had to go onto my older computer to resize it myself in Gimp.

5 comments on “IWSG—Lagging productivity

  1. I like the new cover.
    Moving back to Pittsburgh? How cool.
    And you officially win for the weirdest research ever.

    Like

  2. I’m with Alex. You win! =)

    You know, there’s a reason I don’t do NaNo at all anymore. It puts too much pressure on and you never end up with something really worth keeping. I’d rather write a decent first draft and cut out half the rewrites.

    Like

  3. Olga Godim says:

    Sex with uncircumcised men – I didn’t realize there is information on that online. But it is easy enough to check first-hand and compare, I suppose. 🙂 It is only a matter of finding a willing subject.

    Like

  4. Okay, so I love that you researched that. That’s dedication to your craft!

    It sounds like you’ve had a lot going on, so your NaNo progress is very impressive. Things like travel, moving, etc. seem to derail my progress, but it sounds like you’re on track, even if you had to change your goals a little. I’ve learned that when I have a writing dilemma like the one you’re facing, sometimes stepping back and slowing down yields a better first draft. Sometimes slow and steady really does win the race–for me, at least. Good luck!

    Like

  5. Congratulations on doing NaNo and the A-Z challenge. I couldn’t possibly pull that off.

    Oh, and I nominated you for a Liebster Award. Enjoy! https://andrealundgren.com/2017/05/04/my-first-award/

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

