Vintage ads from bygone eras

Sunday night, I got home from a day-long trip to Brooklyn (and Queens), and as I write this, I’m too exhausted to put together a proper post. I’m also still recovering from car sicknesses. In place of a normal post, I thought I’d showcase some of the vintage ads I’ve virtually collected.

gay-jell-o

How much a word’s most popular, common meaning and usage can change over time!

43b4f18df1073bb4e26bb37e221803cc

How could so many doctors in different countries be wrong?

original

That’s not how weight loss works!

asthma-cigs

I love smoking hookah, though it’s not something I do on any sort of regular basis. Smoking cigarettes as an asthmatic is out of the question!

laudanum

What won’t they cure?

thorazine

Wonder what these people thought constituted “senile agitation.”

spork-and-speef

I doubt I would’ve touched Spork or Speef even before I went kosher or vegetarian!

canned-ribs

There goes the fun and satisfaction of barbecuing.

canned-chicken

It made sense in the era before almost everyone had modern refrigeration.

lysol28

Doctors recommended women douche with Lysol for birth control and hygiene for decades.

femicin

Dude, your definition of suffering doesn’t even come close to what I’ve gone through with dysmenorrhea for 23 years! Sympathy with others’ pain isn’t the same as going through exactly what they do.

Do you enjoy collecting and/or seeing vintage ads? Do you have a favorite category? Do you find some of these old ads’ claims to be more funny or shocking?

This entry was posted in Food and tagged .

7 comments on “Vintage ads from bygone eras

  1. Arlee Bird says:

    These are great! It’s almost amazing that people would have fallen for things like “obesity soap”–oh, if losing weight were so easy! And cocaine and laudanum–must have been some whacked out folks back then.

    The canned meat sounds a bit disgusting though rather convenient.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. That last one is just creepy.
    Smoking for asthma. Of course!
    Anything in a can is not good. Especially meat.

    Like

  3. cleemckenzie says:

    Ah,yes. The good old days when you could buy a Coke and get high. And please sign me up for can of Spork. I can hardly wait. Great post. I wonder how our ads will look to others in the future.

    Like

  4. cheriereich says:

    Good grief! It’s hard to believe some of the things they thought were good ideas, although I really do wish that soap to remove fat worked. 🙂

    Like

  5. Olga Godim says:

    This is a fantastic collection. I mean, Obesity Soap! Really? And someone bought it?

    Like

  6. ChrysFey says:

    The use of the word “gay” did give me pause. I had to look at the ad closely to figure out it wasn’t being mean. Times sure have changed.

    Ribs in a can? That doesn’t sound like it’d be very good.

    Like

  7. The “asthma cigarettes” probably contained small amounts of Datura stramonium leaves – this poisonous herb contains scopolamine, hyoscyamine and atropine, alkaloids that dilate the bronchi. (Asthma cigarettes made with Datura leaves were available commercially in Poland in the 1950s; the brand was called “Astmosan”.)

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

