WeWriWa—An Italian Chanukah feast

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors and Snippet Sunday, weekly Sunday hops where writers share 8 sentences from a book or WIP. This week’s snippet comes a number of chapters after last week’s, during Chapter 51, “Chanukah Italian-Style.”

My characters were smuggled out of Soviet-occupied Hungary in November 1945, and have made their way to Florence, adult character Caterina’s hometown. They initially were put up in a relief shelter run by the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee, but after meeting back up with siblings Imre and Júlia Goldmark, they moved into a very nice vacation apartment.

The other day, Caterina and three of the girls went shopping by the famous Sant’Ambrogio Market, only 100 meters from their apartment. They loaded their baskets with plenty of food for an Italian Chanukah feast.

Delicious chocolate-covered sufganyiot (jelly doughnuts), Copyright Noam Furer

Thursday, 29 November, the apartment flooded with the sumptuous scents of sufganiyot; chicken fried in olive oil, lemon, and nutmeg; brisket; mashed potato pancakes; eggplant fried in olive oil and garlic; deep-fried dough fritters packed with currants; vegetables fried in olive oil; pasta latkes; potato dumplings with sheep cheese; noodle kugel; green beans; stuffed mushrooms; and deep-fried artichokes.  Caterina also tossed giant bowls of Greek salad and eggplant salad.  Tonight they’d eat a meat meal, and tomorrow they’d have dairy.

“I never want this beautiful horn of plenty to end,” Eszter declared as she salted the slices of the last eggplant. “I hope our refrigerator and pantry are stuffed for the next eight days.”

“They sure will be.” Caterina covered the bowl of Greek salad and slid it into the refrigerator. “We’ll have at least as much food as we did when we escaped.”

555px-chanukkah2007_pic_1c

Copyright MathKnight Flag-of-Israel(boxed).png

As fiercely proud as I am of being over half German and a quarter Slovak, I tend towards following the Italian–Sephardic customs. My one-eighth portion of Italian blood was strong enough to give me a Southern Italian body type (barring my tiny little shoulders!), which I truly believe saved my life when I was run over by a car in 2003. Italian and Sephardic Judaism also have much more interesting food, and their customs aren’t as restrictive and superstitious as the Ashkenazic ones!

13 comments on “WeWriWa—An Italian Chanukah feast

  1. Ed Hoornaert says:

    You made my mouth water. The names of the foods may be different, but every culture recognizes harvest time and/or holidays with sumptuous feasts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. chellecordero says:

    I think I am going to hit the fridge now for some leftovers! What a wonderfully “colorful” description of this feast that is being prepared, fills the reader with such anticipation.

    [Having been raised Ashke although I had the right of Sephardic through my dad, I chuckle every year when my daughter rebels and says she is switching to Sephardic dishes because she likes the food better]

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Author Jessica E. Subject says:

    What a wonderful feast! Definitely made me hungry. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. nancygideon says:

    Love the inclusion into another’s customs! The eggplant I can do without, but love me some latkes!! A nice, hopeful scene, Carrie-Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh no- not more delicious food after Thanksgiving!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jenna Jaxon says:

    This sounds mouth-watering. And I love the eggplant, so I’d love to know how to make eggplant salad! Love the picture of the table filled with symbols of the holiday.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. My stomach is actually grumbling when I read this. Food descriptions in books always wreck me. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  8. angelicadawson says:

    Sounds amazing, and has made me hungry!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. So now I’m very hungry and nothing in my house sounds as good as what you described LOL. Great snippet!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. P.T. Wyant says:

    Your snippets always make me hungry.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Andrea R Huelsenbeck says:

    Mouthwatering feast! Beautiful pictures.

    Like

  12. Diane Burton says:

    Shame on you for tempting us with such delicious dishes. I want some of those sufganyiot. Where’s the chocolate when I need some???

    Like

  13. So… you want us all to try to eat our keyboards, don’t you? Wonderful food descriptions, and that last line hints at a dark memory for a nice contrast.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

