WeWriWa—Uninterested in romance

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors and Snippet Sunday, weekly Sunday hops where writers share 8 sentences from a book or WIP. This week’s snippet comes right after last week’s, when Imre volunteered to accompany Csilla and two of her friends to a tashlich ceremony by the Danube. Imre’s mother said it was a good idea to take more than one man for protection, and the very tomboyish Csilla scoffed at such a notion.

rh-windowsill

“You’ll probably soon change your mind about men.” Mrs. Goldmark smiled at Csilla again, then quickly looked at Imre. “I’m surprised a girl of seventeen hasn’t become interested in courting and romance yet.”

“My mother was a spinster till she was thirty-five, and always told me and my sisters we shouldn’t be in a hurry to find beaux and husbands.  I was never particularly interested in marriage anyway, but now I’m not so sure I should ever marry.”

“I hope you change your mind, my dear child.” Mrs. Goldmark gave her the bag of fish food. “Don’t be gone too long.  You’re invited to dinner at my home again tonight.”

rh-balloon

I originally had no plans to give Csilla any love story in this book, since she’s not that type at all, but I’ve really grown to like this plot development. Csilla’s serious, tomboyish nature doesn’t change much just because she’s attracted male attention. She’s such an unconventional young woman for a romantic storyline, and I love standing stereotypes on their head. The only real thing that changes is how she realizes she has the same kind of desires and feelings as a more traditionally feminine woman like her friend Klaudia.

Since I’m a big fan of psychologist Daryl Bem’s Exotic Becomes Erotic theory, Imre is a prettyboy and sensitive, poetic intellectual instead of some macho he-man. He’s the perfect match for a very tomboyish girl.

13 comments on “WeWriWa—Uninterested in romance

  1. Ed Hoornaert says:

    Reading what you plan for her, I’d say you’ve set it up very well in this passage.

    Like

  2. Kim Magennis says:

    I look forward to watching Csilla’s romance unravel!

    Like

  3. Her mother was obviously a sensible and independent woman.

    Like

  4. angelicadawson says:

    Love a girl who bucks tradition.

    Like

  5. A girl after my own heart! Great snippet. 😀

    Like

  6. Author Jessica E. Subject says:

    Wow, Mrs. Goldmark is determined. A great snippet! And from your description, it sounds like they really are a perfect match. 🙂

    Like

  7. Diane Burton says:

    What an interesting story. A matchmaker and a girl who doesn’t want to get married. Great snippet.

    Like

  8. Some people take longer than others to become interested in romance. It’s so great that her mom isn’t trying to force it!

    Like

  9. I think Csilla and Imre make a great couple and I always love it when a character ‘decides’ to have more of a story than I’d planned. Excellent excerpt as always…

    Like

  10. Jenna Jaxon says:

    I really like where this plot is going. Imre and his mother are going to have to fight like heck to get her interested in Imre. Well done!

    Like

  11. I wonder why she’s not so sure she’ll ever marry, or if she’ll want to. Because she’s so independent? And Mrs. Goldmark is one shark about love, ain’t she?

    Like

    • Carrie-Anne says:

      Csilla’s always been very tomboyish, and doesn’t see herself as the type of girl to get into romance and girly things. After what she’s lived through during the war, she doesn’t know if bringing children into this kind of world would be ethical.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. P.T. Wyant says:

    I like Csilla. And I love the role reversal (for lack of a better term in my sleep deprived brain) for her and Imre.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

