WeWriWa—Luiza’s Halloween costume

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

halloween6_0

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors and Snippet Sunday, weekly Sunday hops where writers share 8 sentences from a book or WIP. I’m continuing this month’s Halloween theme with a snippet from a bit later in the first Halloween chapter of my fourth Russian historical. This part of the chapter is back in Manhattan, as Igor goes to pick up his cousin Luiza for an NYU Halloween party up in the Bronx.

Igor is dressed as a Renaissance artist, with a genuine antique shashka sword his great-uncle the prince loaned him for a prop. The sword came from his great-uncle’s paternal grandfather, who served in the Russian Caucasian Corps. While he’s in his stepaunt’s house to pick up Luiza, his younger brother Ilya (his Irish twin) and Ilya’s girlfriend Milada, both dressed as pirates, are cuddling in the car.

Before Luiza heads out to the car, her mother tells her she’s not going to use the party as an excuse to meet men. Luiza nods but doesn’t say anything.

hal-7

As soon as she heads out the door with Igor, she pulls off her golden sweater and stuffs it into the golden purse attached to her waist.

“I’m not covering my arms up to the elbow just because my parents think it’s indecent to wear shoulder straps at a mixed party.  There’s no point in dressing like an Ancient Egyptian woman if I’m just going to wear some stupid sweater hiding the top part of my gown.”

Igor averts his eyes when he catches Ilya and Milada kissing in the backseat, pressed up against one another for dear life and running their hands through one another’s hair.  Luiza ignores them and gets into the passenger seat, where she pulls off her golden flats and exchanges them for a pair of golden sandals in her purse.

“I hope you’re not too cold,” Igor says. “Even a nice Halloween costume shouldn’t come before dressing warmly.”

“I’ll be fine.  A little chill is my price to pay for fashion.”

cleopatraarticle

The great Theda Bara as Cleopatra

18 thoughts on “WeWriWa—Luiza’s Halloween costume

  1. Well, no one can convince her to dress any other way. I like her attitude. I hope the party goes well for her. 🙂

    Like

  2. Love it! I actually gave a lot of thought to going as Cleopatra myself this Halloween, as I’ve never done so before and quite enjoy the look. In the end, I opted for something else great instead, but will definitely be looking to Cleo again in the future.

    Many hugs,
    ♥ Jessica

    Like

  3. Love that last line! That’s my thinking about Halloween. Or, well, not the fashion, but what’s a little chill to pay for dressing however you wish to show off your evil side on Halloween? 😉 I love her rebel attitude. Seriously though, how big IS that purse?

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

