WeWriWa—Fedya’s brother

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors and Snippet Sunday, weekly Sunday hops where writers share 8–10 sentences from a book or WIP. This week’s snippet picks up where last week’s left off, as it dawned on Violetta that she and Igor have a family connection.

2a29f23a80b498eeac58b7d36ad06538

“Are you by any chance Fedya Konev’s younger brother?”

“Yes, if my brother’s the same fellow you’re thinking of.  I take it you know each other?”

“Fedya’s family lived across the hall from mine for the last two and a half years.  He said his younger brothers Igor and Ilya were coming to New York to study art at NYU, and suggested we might run into each other.” Violetta slides her right leg back and sits up a little straighter. “How much exactly did Fedya tell you about me?”

“Nothing, really.  I don’t know anything about your family, except that your dedushka’s a priest, your mother used to be a religious fanatic, and you’re the first surviving child.  I’m really sorry about your oldest siblings.”

***************************

Violetta’s dedushka (grandfather), Father Spiridon, has been one of my favorite secondary characters ever since I created him when I was about eighteen (back on my ’93 Mac). I love the character development Father Spiridon and his daughter Granyechka (Violetta’s mother) have gone through over the years, particularly as regards their relationship with antagonist Boris.

Granyechka will be the first to admit she used to be an insufferable religious fanatic who didn’t quite live in the real world. She made a big break with her former lifestyle after the loss of her oldest two children, a miscarriage, and a premature stillbirth, feeling that perhaps she’d have better luck and more happiness if she were more modern. Part of that transformation was giving her surviving children modern, non-religious names.

16 comments on “WeWriWa—Fedya’s brother

  1. Ed Hoornaert says:

    The first couple of lines got me wondering how many Fedya Konevs there might be.

    Like

  2. I really like how you showed her mistrust by having her slide her leg back and sit up straight. 🙂

    Like

  3. P.T. Wyant says:

    I don’t know, but for not knowing anything about her family he sure knows a lot. LOL And I love how Fedya just assumed they’d run into each other in a city as big as NYC.

    Like

  4. Kim Magennis says:

    Lovely natural flow in your dialogue. I agree with PT’s comment on how – of course – they would run into each othet.

    Like

  5. Author Jessica E. Subject says:

    I think it’s always fascinating when you find out you know someone like this, or at least you know someone related to them. Nice snippet! 🙂

    Like

  6. So now she seems wary of him, I hope that doesn’t mean she doesn’t want to get to know him. He’s such a nice guy, I wouldn’t mind having him for a friend myself 🙂

    Marcia

    Like

  7. Interesting snippet, was really fascinated by what you shared of the backstory at the end of the post. Always enjoy my visits to your blog posts!

    Like

  8. siobhanmuir says:

    Intriguing snippet, Carrie-Anne. 🙂

    Like

  9. Interesting that they have a connection. I’m intrigued to know where this might lead.

    Like

  10. Jenna Jaxon says:

    I really like her subtle way of trying to find out if he knows about her leg. I’m waiting to find out how she’ll react when she realizes he doesn’t know, and if she’ll tell him.

    Like

  11. I like how you have her move her leg to display her emotional insecurity about her physical disability. It’s powerful. Great snippet.

    Like

  12. That’s some heavy family history. But it’s good that they have a way to run into each other.

    Like

  13. So much going on in this snippet! I’m really enjoying them and look forward to reading more.

    Like

  14. Love the dialogue–he does know a lot about her family.

    Like

  15. Well, he doesn’t know the secret she’s worried about. That’s good, though I wonder how long she plans to hide it.

    Like

  16. Great dialogue. He says he doesn’t know much but he seems to know enough. LOL.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

