WeWriWa—Agreeable Conditions

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors and Snippet Sunday, weekly Sunday hops where writers share 8–10 sentences from a book or WIP. This week may be the final snippet from my alternative history for awhile.

In the last snippet, Arkadiya discovered just how much her newlywed husband loves her, and received an invitation to exchange her room for the Imperial bedroom, on two conditions. Though she finds this turn of events very agreeable, she’s still in a state of disbelief. As a 32-year-old spinster, she didn’t think any man would ever love her, let alone the most powerful man in the empire.

St_GeorgesHallWP

The Great Throne Room of the Winter Palace, where the newlywed Imperial couple were greeted by their parents after the ceremony and given the traditional karavay wedding loaf on a silver platter with salt

“What conditions are these?” She rubbed his shoulders and kissed his neck.

“First, as you’re well aware of, I need to trust you won’t be rough with me.  I’m not as sickly as I was as a little boy, but I’m still not as strong and hearty as normal people.  Secondly, I want you to stop calling me Majesty.  I told you to call me Alyosha.”

She smiled at him. “Sure, I can agree to those conditions, though it’ll take awhile for me to get used to calling you Alyosha instead of Your Majesty.”

gerge

Aleksey with his double-second-cousins Princess Ileana and Prince Nicolae of Romania, 1914. Many people speculate Aleksey and Ileana would’ve married in real life, though of the equally-ranked potential consorts, I slightly prefer Princess Ingrid of Sweden (later Queen of Denmark). The first what-if match is too popular/overused for my tastes, whereas the intelligent, compassionate, courageous Ingrid’s name doesn’t seem to be mentioned so often.

20 comments on “WeWriWa—Agreeable Conditions

  1. Ed Hoornaert says:

    Ah, she’s finally believes in and seems comfortable with his feelings for her. Good for her.

    Like

  2. Kim Magennis says:

    Well, I could probably live happily with conditions like that! ;¬}

    Like

  3. Sara Barnard says:

    I love your alternative history snippets! The pictures bring your words to life. Wonderful!

    Like

  4. astonwest says:

    Change is a hard thing to get past, I’ll agree…great snippet. Enjoyed it!

    Like

  5. Author Jessica E. Subject says:

    Oh, he is so very sweet! I’m loving these snippets! 🙂

    Like

  6. I liked the conditions, definitely things she can live with. Really enjoying watching this romance unfold and wishing the poor Prince had gotten this chance in real life. Another terrific excerpt!

    Like

  7. Jenna Jaxon says:

    Great conditions! I understand how hard it might be to stop calling him Majesty. 🙂 But it was very nice to see her being physical with him at the beginning of the snippet. I’m sure she’ll be gentle with him. If they had children, would they have the disease or be carriers of it?

    Like

    • Carrie-Anne says:

      All daughters born to a hemophiliac man will be obligate carriers, but none of the boys will have the disease themselves, unless their mother is a carrier. The grandsons would be the ones at risk for having the disease, though medical care was somewhat improved by that point.

      Like

  8. I’m happy that they are finally comfortable with each other. And I think love is always worth the risks. I’ll miss these snippets, so I guess I’ll have to go buy it. 🙂

    Like

  9. Oh, dang. I just saw that I have to wait until August! 😛

    Like

  10. Aw yes! Love how tender they are with each other. And “call me Alyosha.” *melts*

    Like

  11. This is very sweet. I think they’ll be happy together; two fortunate people. 🙂

    Like

  12. That’s quite a risk to take, when they didn’t know what would happen to their children. And quite a risk to her heart, loving him!

    Like

  13. P.T. Wyant says:

    Those conditions aren’t bad at all. (But changing what she calls him will take time.)

    Like

  14. Karen Michelle Nutt says:

    Loved this scene and the way they are open with each other. Very sweet.

    Like

  15. Aw, she seems to have relaxed from the disbelief and now seems almost…happy. Getting used to calling someone something else doesn’t happen overnight though. I think those conditions are agreeable.

    Like

  16. Such a sweet alternate history tale.
    I still find myself looking at the photos you post of Aleksey, and thinking what kind of a monster can kill a child in cold blood…

    Like

  17. His conditions aren’t that bad after all.

    Like

  18. What a sweet and light snippet.

    Like

  19. siobhanmuir says:

    Not hard to accommodate those ideas. She doesn’t strike me as a Domme. Great snippet, Carrie-Anne. 🙂

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

