WeWriWa—Declaration of love

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4
Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors and Snippet Sunday, a weekly Sunday hop where writers share 8–10 sentences from a book or WIP. This week’s snippet comes right after last week’s, as the newlywed Imperial couple are in the Gold Drawing Room of the Winter Palace following their wedding and the banquet. Arkadiya is stunned when her new husband tells her he loves her, particularly since the plan was for them to have a celibate marriage and adopt an heir to avoid potentially having a sick child.

What people in 1929 didn’t know was that it’s genetically impossible for a hemophiliac father to have a son with the disease, unless the mother were herself a carrier. All boys born to a hemophiliac father and normal mother will be healthy, but all the girls will automatically be carriers themselves.

450px-GrandChurch

Grand Cathedral of the Winter Palace, where all Imperial weddings were performed, painted by Eduard Hau

“I love you, Arya.  Would I have chosen you for my Tsaritsa if I didn’t love you?  I wanted you to be mine from the first time I saw you.  You’re the perfect match God intended for me, and I never could’ve found you or gotten the chance to marry you without so many little events leading into one another.  The more time has gone by, the less reconciled I feel to having some celibate marriage.  Just because I might not live a long life doesn’t mean I shouldn’t enjoy myself with my beautiful bride with the time I’ve got left.  Please tell me you want to be my real wife, not just a friend I’m married to?”

Arkadiya sat frozen. “You felt this way since you met me, and just let me believe I was a good match for all those other reasons?”

15 thoughts on “WeWriWa—Declaration of love

  1. I can’t wait to read more of this conversation! I love that he can express his true feelings to her this way. Excellent excerpt – I like them both so much, it’s hard and sad to remember this is all an alternate history. I never knew that little detail about hemophilia – thanks for the enightenment!

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

