The gender-industrial complex, Part IV (Children’s brains are notoriously underdeveloped)

Warning: Any hateful, threatening, abusive comments will be deleted and the commenters blacklisted. My blog isn’t one of your circle-jerks on YouTube, Reddit, or Tumblr. #sorrynotsorry

I’ve noticed three major categories of parents involved in this disproportionately exploding trend:

People who enforce rigid, outdated sex roles. Many have point-blank said they’d rather their child become the opposite sex than be potentially gay, and wouldn’t let them do anything associated with the other sex. These are the type of people who refuse to let a boy wear pink or let a girl have short hair, who think dolls, long hair, tea parties, pierced ears=girl, sports, short hair, toy cars, rough housing=boy. This really is 21st century “conversion therapy.”

SJWs who think they’re being such awesome, liberal, accepting activists, and don’t even question the media narrative. (I’m extremely liberal myself, so it takes quite a lot for me to say anyone else is taking it to an extreme!)

Munchausen by proxy, which sometimes overlaps with the SJWs. You can see a lot of this in many of the parents who go on the media circuit, like the parents of “Jazz Jennings” (real name Jaron Bloshinsky). They’re getting all this attention for parading their child to the world, and giving the child off-label puberty blockers and cross-sex hormones.

pink and blue

Since “Jazz” has become such a celebrity, let’s look at his story more closely. It’s like he and his family are going from a checklist of stereotypical “girl” things, like slumber parties, long hair, pink, Barbies, stuffed animals, cheerleading, giggling about boys with 20 best friends, makeup, short shorts, and shopping. His parents couldn’t let their son be a feminine boy, so they made him into a girl. If they’d just let him be himself, he either would’ve grown out of his gender-nonconformity or come out as gay.

Behind the scenes, his mother has admitted “Jazz” is being groomed and fed false memories. Most tellingly, “She only knows transition is best because that’s what adults have told her.”

“Jazz” likes to say he has a “girl brain” in a boy body, though current scientific research shows there’s not much difference between men’s and women’s brains. “Jazz” really means he was led to believe only girls like pink, sparkles, mermaids, and long hair. I wonder what he’d think of me, someone who can only tolerate dark pinks, never had a Barbie, rarely ever wears makeup, hates going to the mall, and never got into the media hype my agemates did regarding boygroups like NKOTB and N’Sync.

tumblr_nykpr7fFxD1ugc5o3o1_500

Children don’t understand what kinds of longterm consequences they’ll face for having to take these drugs for the rest of their lives, least of all what it means they’ll be permanently sterilized and can never have biological children. “Jazz” has seriously said he wants to use his older sister as a broodmare, using rather flippant, vulgar language to describe artificial insemination, pregnancy, and birth.

Five-year-old Melanie/Tom in a fairly recent Guardian article talked about how “When I am older and start taking medicine to grow a willy.” That child cannot understand what phalloplasty actually entails, and how even the best artificially-constructed phallus will never work just like a real one.

11350910_1666715103566591_2370093335208450461_n

It was only 6 months ago or so I discovered an MTF’s neovagina needs regular dilation (daily at first, then weekly, with sex counting as dilation). Otherwise, it’ll close up, since it’s a permanent wound. Only dilation keeps it open to the desired width and depth. How then could the average child know about this? I wouldn’t even compare this to always wearing jewelry in a piercing you want to keep, since all you have to do is get it repierced or tapered back open. You don’t need surgery and won’t risk infection (assuming everything’s normal) if your septum or navel is devoid of jewelry for too long.

8 thoughts on “The gender-industrial complex, Part IV (Children’s brains are notoriously underdeveloped)

  1. There’s a youtuber who is MTF and she vlogged very honestly about the surgery and the dilation she had to do. She said she didn’t want to sugar coat the experience. Which I really respected because whenever I see talk about transition, it’s very brief. It’s only discussing the good things and any bad things are because the people in that person’s life is transphobic and stuff like that. They don’t get into how scary it can be and the work that will go into.

    All this creates a false narrative that it’s all sunshine and unicorns. And it’s not. Transitioning for a trans person can be the best thing for them, it can make them happier, but it is not a walk in the park and I think we are doing a huge disservice to future trans people by not talking about the difficulties they will face and preparing them for it.

    Like

  2. I have a niece who is gender non-confirming. Always has been, always will be. But she’s quite comfortable identifying as a girl. She is who she is. The thing is – she’s a girl, and that’s actually OK! It’s OK for girls to like boy things, but it’s NOT OK for boys to like girly things. If they do then they’re gay, or they’re sissies or they’re trans. And it’s increasingly becoming OK for people to be trans – and it’s almost a badge of honor for a parent to have a trans kid. How brave they are!

    For a child to begin the transition they need to really identify as the opposite gender, well beyond liking ‘girly’ things. I do think that kids who are truly trans should start at a young age. If my daughter had / does identify as a boy, I’d look into it. But – my niece called herself a boy. Her sisters referred to themselves as boys. At this point all of them are happy with the gender they are now – and I doubt that they will change that. My brother has accepted their interests and their personalities, their mother has done so grudgingly. (It used to be that she would get upset if the shoes the girls bought were too “boyish” and would insist that they were returned. Thankfully she’s stopped that.)

    Anyway, I agree with you. 100%.

    Like

  3. I always thought declaring colors as feminine or masculine was silly. They’re colors! Just like what kids do during playtime. It’s playtime for goodness sakes. It’s about fun and imagination. Let boys have tea parties and play with dolls if they want to, and let girls play with dirt and cars if they want to.

    Like

    • Many people are surprised to discover pink and blue used to be switched until around the middle of the 20th century. Pink was considered a lighter shade of red, a very masculine color, while blue was for girls because it’s the Virgin Mary’s trademark color. Some places, like Korea, still consider pink a traditional masculine color. My favorite colors are purple, dark blue, teal, and black because I love those colors, not because they’re associated with women or men.

      Like

  4. Neither of my children quite fit stereotypical gender models – but then, with a chef father and a mother who doesn’t wear makeup, seldom jewelry, doesn’t like to shop, and prefers any and all blues to any and all pinks, maybe that’s not surprising. And it doesn’t hurt that they’ve had connections in their lives with people of varying gender and sexual orientations, and that we’ve been honest and open with them about sexuality since they were toddlers.

    Maybe, in the end, that’s the key. I see it again and again – parents keeping information from children, trying to “protect” them or steer them this way or that. But information is power, and it can make a huge difference.

    Like

    • I’ll always be grateful to my parents for raising me and my little brother as people, not collections of stereotypes dependent upon the current dominant culture. My great-grandpap Ben, the only great-grandfather I have a memory of, used to tell my mother I was built like a football player and had a boy’s body wasted on a girl. (I’m not entirely sure he would’ve continued to think that had he not died when I was only seven and a half!) My mother says I used to carry my few dolls under my arm, like a football, instead of acting sweet and motherly with them. It’s very concerning to me how Western society seems much more sex-stereotyped than it was even 50 years ago, with things like Boy and Girl aisles in toy stores and not enough gender-neutral, androgynous children’s clothes.

      I’m a big fan of the classic Seventies short story “The Story of an X,” where only the parents and researchers know whether X is really a boy or a girl. X wears all kinds of clothes and plays with all kinds of toys, which is exactly how I’ve always planned to raise any children I might have. That’s another reason I don’t want to find out the sex until birth, so people won’t be able to give stereotypical clothes and toys as baby shower gifts. Potentially having a girly-girl daughter would be such an odd experience for me, since I’ve always been a so-called tomboy in pretty much everything but my physical presentation.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Since my daughter is girly-girl in many ways (as you’ve seen!), and loves that “pink aisle” that made me shudder before she came along to delight in it, I understand. But, “girly-girl” as her fashion sense is now, she spent from about ages 5-8 only wearing her brother’s outgrown clothing.

        When my son was very small, he loved and tended his dolls daily. When his brother died in infancy, he was only 22 months old, and not really talking yet. He derived a lot of obvious comfort from those babies, and I think worked through a level of grief current wisdom would say a baby his age couldn’t have.

        In his life, he’s had some supposedly “girly” passions: Dora the Explorer, Care Bears, and for the last few years, My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic. His favorite pony is Pinky Pie, “because she breaks the fourth wall.” He’s big and burly, and it’s been suggested that he should play a sport, but he’s not interested in competing that way. He’s easygoing and has been generous and a very tolerant, nurturing brother as long as he’s had a sibling (first his brother, then his sister when he was 34 months old).

        He was rather convinced, when she was born, that she would eventually “grow a penis”, and all of his pictures of her at that time depicted her with one. While I was honest with him about her unlikeliness to grow male genitalia, neither I or my husband discouraged his artistic vision, and he eventually realized that she’s pretty cool as she is.

        My daughter is the daredevil of the two. Along with her fashion sense and love of stuffed animals and “girly” things, she’s very much into nature, challenging her body, natural disasters, Hess trucks, car and home maintenance, and has a longstanding penchant for horror twists.

        Which basically means that we don’t have firm boxes around here for what people (any of the four people here)

        Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

