WeWriWa—Declaration of love

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4
Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors and Snippet Sunday, a weekly Sunday hop where writers share 8–10 sentences from a book or WIP. To avoid giving away too much of my alternative history, I’m skipping to the wedding chapter.

Because Aleksey is so worried about his disease manifesting in another generation or inadvertently injuring himself from the marriage act, he wanted to adopt a child, legally make that boy his heir, and have a celibate marriage. However, you know what they say about the best-laid plans of mice and men.

Golden_Drawing_Room

The Gold Drawing Room of the Winter Palace (after its reconstruction in the wake of an 1837 fire), painted by Aleksandr K. Kolb, public domain.

Arkadiya had a seat on the fancy red velvet davenport by the jasper and marble fireplace, though she already felt toasty enough from all the other heating the palace already had in place.  Sitting right next to her new husband made her feel even toastier.

“Are you happy being Tsaritsa so far?  As long as I’m clinging to life, I want to make sure you’re happy.  If anything ever disagrees with you, just let me know, and I’ll immediately find a way to remedy it.  I know I never told you this before, but I love you, Arya, and I really hope you love me too, or at least grow to love me.”

Her blood ran cold. “What did you just say, Your Majesty?”

17 thoughts on “WeWriWa—Declaration of love

  1. Whoa… Which part made her blood run cold? Him admitting he loves her, or him hoping one day she’ll grow to love him? Odd reaction, but I sense a story behind that one.

    And this is a random comment, but how do you pronounce Tsaritsa? I know I’m saying it wrong in my head.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

