WeWriWa—The secret on her arms

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors and Snippet Sunday, weekly Sunday hops where writers share 8–10 sentences from a book or WIP. This snippet picks up a few lines after last week’s, as Arkadiya is pressed to take her arms out from behind her back and explain why she only wears long sleeves. She tries one last time to evade confession by saying some things can’t be forgotten once they’ve been seen, but Aleksey says her arms can’t be more horrific than his experience in the cellar the night he almost died.

aox0sp

 A gown worn by Aleksey’s paternal grandmother, the Dowager Empress, with the kind of long sleeves Arkadiya’s used to wearing

Arkadiya looked at the ceiling as she let her arms out from behind her back.  She flinched when she felt a hand on her right arm.

“What happened to you, Arya?  Is this recent, or have you been scarred a long time?  Was it an accident, or did someone do that to you deliberately?”

“I had an accident in the kitchen when I was twelve, and pulled a pot of boiling water onto myself.  If you really must know, I also sustained burns to my stomach.  Luckily, it’s just ugly old scar tissue now, and can be covered up easily.  May I please change into something with long sleeves now?  If you want me to wear this style and color so badly, you can reschedule the photography session and have your seamstress or tailor make me this same gown with longer sleeves.”

15 comments on “WeWriWa—The secret on her arms

  1. emmygatrell says:

    Oh, I feel bad for her… Great snippet!

    Like

  2. Kim Magennis says:

    Nothing more powerful than a visual explanation!

    Like

  3. Author Jessica E. Subject says:

    I can understand her hesitation. I’m curious as to whether Aleksey will let her hide them with sleeves.

    Like

  4. Poor Arkadiya really has had a lot of challenges in her life. I hope Aleksey will be understanding. Even if he doesn’t mind the scars he must surely understand her self-conscioiusness.

    Like

  5. Aw that must have been really hard for her to do, and I bet Aleksey will appreciate that. I’m really enjoying watching these two get to know each other.

    Like

  6. I’ve seen the result of that exact kind of accident, so I know why she feels the way she does. I’m eager to see what his reaction will be. Great snippet!

    Like

  7. P.T. Wyant says:

    I love how easily he accepted the scars instead of flinching away. It seems that they bother her more than they do him.

    Like

  8. Poor girl, although she seems quite at peace with her situation. I liked the way Aleksey was horrified or repulsed – good for him. Excellent excerpt!

    Like

  9. I’m curious, too, if he will let her hide what she’s obviously uncomfortable showing. I like that he gave her a nickname, too. 🙂

    Like

  10. siobhanmuir says:

    I’m more curious to his response, although his questions say a lot about him already. Great snippet, Carrie-Anne.

    Like

  11. Ed Hoornaert says:

    Poor Arkadiya. She has more than her share of issues.

    Like

  12. Jenna Jaxon says:

    His reaction is key, although I cannot see him being a jerk about it. He’s too classy for that. But I do feel badly for her to have to reveal such a physical blemish. That takes real courage. Great snippet.

    Like

  13. She should be able to cover her arms if she wants–but I hope he can accept her scars if she decides not to hide them, too.

    Like

  14. Ouch. That would hurt. Someone’s a little self conscious about those scars. Don’t be ashamed of them, wear them like badges of honor I say! Of course this time frame IS a bit different than modern times… I wonder if he’ll respect her wishes to hide them from now on.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

