IWSG—Cover artist woes

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

Today is the November meeting of The Insecure Writer’s Support Group, which convenes the first Wednesday of every month to discuss our latest concerns, issues, problems, and triumphs.

I have no more expectation of ever hearing back from the cover artist I queried in August. I nudged her on her Facebook page about two weeks after that, and she indicated she was behind on her messages. At the end of August, she had a post including a line about how she was deep in arrears with old, unanswered messages, and would try going through them soon. At this point, you can knock me over with a feather if I ever hear back.

This is definitely a real artist, and has even been mentioned on the IWSG webpage. Sometimes it happens we contact an agent, editor, artist, etc., at the wrong time, and it’s no one’s fault, but it would’ve been nice to at least get some kind of form response indicating she wasn’t taking new commissions until such and such a date. I’d really been looking forward to potentially working with this artist, since she does real illustrations instead of graphic design.

I’d been interested in her revamping at least one of my covers, and because I didn’t hear back, I can forget about doing rereleases of those books in the remainder of this year. This also means I probably won’t be releasing The Twelfth Time this year. This really messed up what I’d been planning, since it’s pointless to plead for guest spots for a book tour when there’s no revamped cover to go along with it.

I did find a premade illustrated cover for And the Lark Arose from Sullen Earth, though I was kind of thrown for a loop when the artist didn’t answer my query of how s/he’d like to be credited. Crediting a screen name seems kind of unprofessional. This artist also told me I’d have to buy something from his/her Shutterstock to get a back cover designed. I’ve never heard of an exchange like that.

Have you had any odd or unexpected experiences with cover artists? Would it be worth it to try nudging the first artist, or write this situation off as unprofessional conduct?

I’ll be discussing my second official NaNo experience next Monday. Suffice it to say for now, I’m pretty disappointed in myself for not at least equalling the almost 75K I did last year, or going as high as 100K. I feel like I didn’t put in my best possible effort, coupled with suddenly losing my passion for this project on the eve of November. I ran myself ragged on the final day, forcing myself up to 71,040 words.

However, I did reward myself for my win with a beautiful new navel piercing. It’s got purple opals, and I was thrilled to learn I have the perfect navel for piercing in spite of being a lower plus size. I now have ten piercings—three sets of lobe piercings, my left rook, my right conch, my left nostril, and my navel. I think lucky #11 will be my left tragus, on my birthday.

8 comments on “IWSG—Cover artist woes

  1. If you haven’t heard back from that first artist, I’d say look elsewhere. Check the IWSG site or ask any of our self-published members about their cover artists.

    Like

  2. I agree with Alex – it’s time to look elsewhere for a cover artist. One one expect there would at least be a “form reply” of some type in this length of time. Good luck with finding the perfect artist to work with in moving forward.

    Like

  3. Arlee Bird says:

    It can be frustrating to be ignored in a profession capacity. I’ve had a few of my inquiries to various people including artists ignored and I’ve just had to let them go and forget about them. Somebody out there will eventually be interested if you keep persisting in your search.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  4. ChrysFey says:

    I’m sorry you haven’t heard back from her. I can imagine how disappointing that is. The only problem I had with a cover artist is she created a cover that wasn’t a good fit for my story. She hadn’t even taken my ideas or suggestions. My publisher let me select new stock photos though so I was able to get a cover that worked.

    Like

  5. So to hear about your cover woes. You are brave to have so many piercings. I grew up with a mother who had such severe eczema that she had nothing pierced, and so I followed her lead.

    Like

  6. Erika Beebe says:

    In my opinion as a graphic artist, there is a certain level of professionalism everyone should consider. I am sorry to hear you are not receiving timely feedback. I haven’t had issues with designers at this point, but I do believe we should treat others the way we wish to be treated in the professional world. I wish you much luck and it sounds like you have done something fun for yourself with a new piercing. Happy Wednesday. Erika

    Like

  7. jamieayres says:

    I’m sorry it didn’t work out . . . how frustrating! Better luck next time. Nice job on all the writing 🙂

    Like

  8. shanjeniah says:

    I’m not yet near the point where I’m ready to seriously consid a cover artist. I hope you can find a solution. and that you will be gentle with yourself about your word count. Some years arde just better than others. I wrote allmost twice as many words last year too.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

