WeWriWa—In memory of George

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors and Snippet Sunday, weekly Sunday hops where writers share 8–10 sentences from a book or WIP. In loving memory of George Harrison on his 14th Jahrzeit (death anniversary), this week’s snippet comes from my contemporary historical Bildungsroman, Little Ragdoll, Chapter 27, “Letters to and from Lucine and Emeline.”

It’s the fall of 1964, and 12-year-old Ernestine, 10-year-old Adicia, and 5-year-old Justine have written letters to two of their older sisters, 18-year-old Lucine and 16-year-old Emeline, who both ran away from home to avoid their black-hearted mother’s schemes to forcibly marry them off underage. Lucine is now a first-year student at Hunter College, and Emeline is a high school junior at the same Yorkville boarding school Lucine attended, a school for disadvantaged young women. The Episcopal priest and his wife running the school are now the adoptive parents of oldest sister Gemma’s birth son Giovanni, the unwanted product of her own forced marriage.

Super big brother Allen knows their address, and has let his little sisters write from his address so their evil mother won’t discover what really happened to her vanished daughters. Though Ernestine left home underage and now lives with some friends, Adicia and Justine are still at home. Emeline, near the end of her letter back, explains why George is her favorite Beatle.

George Harrison through the years.

Photo courtesy of Getty Images. My little brother has a kind of creepy resemblance to a young George Harrison.

To answer Ernestine’s question, yes, I do like The Beatles (and I can’t believe she’s old enough now to have celebrity crushes!).  Maybe I’m a little too old for them, but it’s not like I’m one of those screaming young girls who’s only thinking about how cute they are and can’t even hear them singing or playing their instruments.  Liking somebody’s music has nothing to do with how cute they are, though it does help if someone is good-looking in addition to talented.  My favorite is George.  I guess it’s because he’s the baby of the group, and it makes me think of my own dear little sisters and how the baby of a family needs special mothering, love, and protection.  Is it a good or a bad thing I feel such a strong mothering instinct at only sixteen?  Besides, I know how it feels to be pegged ‘the quiet one.’  That label sticks, and people sometimes don’t expect much of you since they think you’re not talkative.  But boy, will I prove to anyone who thinks I’m just another quiet, bookish girl that still waters can run deep when I go into the world and make something of myself!

george-harrison-e1271725851204

Not only does George’s music mean more to me than I can put into words, but he’s also one of my spiritual mentors. He was such a good person, with such a sincere, beautiful heart and soul, doing so much for the world, with such a strong belief in the power of humanity to change the world and improve ourselves. I often think of his profound last words, “Everything else can wait, but the search for God cannot wait, and love one another.”

15 comments on “WeWriWa—In memory of George

  1. Kim Magennis says:

    Thank you for sharing. That group of young men certainly changed the face of music, and to some extent, the level of consciousness of a lot of people. I enjoyed the way you blended your character’s comments about reality into her own story.

    Like

  2. Ed Hoornaert says:

    You’ve given her strong–and beautiful–reasons for liking George. Her admiration teaches us a lot about her as a person, too.

    Like

  3. George is my favorite, too, and I can relate to Emeline’s reasons for liking him. Lovely snippet..

    Like

  4. The letter is beautiful, with such strong and moving sentiments being expressed! Thanks for sharing the excerpt, and I enjoyed the details of the story’s plot as well.

    Like

  5. Someone’s favorite (whatever) can say a lot about them, especially if they explain why. This certainly gives us some insight! 🙂

    Like

  6. Karen Michelle Nutt says:

    Loved the letter. Gives the reader a sense of her character. Great photos too. 🙂

    Like

  7. We gained a lot of insight into her character, and the writing was good too.

    Like

  8. I really enjoyed all of this, from the story overview to the closing comments. Is this a WIP or already published?

    Like

  9. Loved this. The Beatles are the best.

    Like

  10. What a terrific letter and sentiment!

    Like

  11. P.T. Wyant says:

    I love the maturity that is reflected in her letter. She seems like she’s going to be a force to be reckoned with.

    Like

  12. Amalie says:

    Such a beautiful and honest letter! Really enjoyed that little snippet!

    There are so many excellent musical artists out there who are much more than pretty faces, yet it seems that’s all the fangirls/fanboys are looking for in a musical idol. So sad to me.

    Like

  13. jessicahanna says:

    Aw, love this snippet. I feel like I know this girl so well. Impeccable conveyance of character in just a few short lines. Very nicely done. (It probably helps that I agree wholeheartedly about George.)

    Like

  14. That’s a beautiful letter. It’s so bad the girls have to send letter instead of growing up together though.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

