WeWriWa—Clothing choices

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors and Snippet Sunday, weekly Sunday hops where writers share 8–10 sentences from a book or WIP. This scene continues right after last week’s, as Arkadiya Gagarina is interviewed for the position of empress-consort. She thinks it’s a waste of time, since she’s already 32 and is only a morganatic princess by chance, but feels bound to sitting for the interview after how kind His Majesty has been to her.

Arkadiya has come to the interview in a long-sleeved gown, though all the dresses she’s been gifted have shorter sleeves. There’s a reason Arkadiya always wears long sleeves, but she hasn’t revealed it to anyone yet. At the end of this scene, she’s invited to use ty, the familiar form of you.

2v9xmjm

One of the gowns worn by Aleksey’s paternal grandmother, the Dowager Empress Mariya Fyodorovna (née Princess Dagmar of Denmark)

“How come you’re not wearing any of the nice new clothes I got you?”

“I very much appreciate your generous gifts, Your Majesty, but I have no need for such finery.  I’m happy with just my normal, simple clothes, and a few more formal pieces.  Where would I ever wear such finery, and what would I do with it in the meantime?”

“If you accept the position of Tsaritsa, you’ll have occasion to wear formal clothes a lot, even if I’m not keen on regular court functions.  And please, you don’t need to call me Majesty.  I’m just a normal person who happened to have been born into this role.  Just call me Alyosha like everyone else.  In fact, you can use ty with me too.”

2574207700102753164s600x600q85

The gown worn by Aleksey’s mother, Empress Aleksandra, at her coronation in May 1896

Next week I’ll be taking a brief detour to mark George Harrison’s 14th Jahrzeit (death anniversary).

12 comments on “WeWriWa—Clothing choices

  1. Ed Hoornaert says:

    Shes till hasn’t twigged to the fact that he’s interested in her. Does she have an inferiority complex, perhaps, or lots of insecurities?

    Like

    • Carrie-Anne says:

      She’s so used to spinsterhood, she really doesn’t understand a man could possibly be interested in her romantically. She also feels somewhat defective because of her limp, and another physical issue she hasn’t revealed yet.

      Like

  2. So, the cat is out of the bag–he’s chosen, and now it’s up to her. Nice!

    I hope you have a happy Thanksgiving, Carrie-Anne. Many blessings to you and yours. 🙂 Do you ever come home for a holiday?

    Like

  3. Kim Magennis says:

    I am curious about her self-imposed wardrobe limitations!

    Like

  4. siobhanmuir says:

    Great snippet, Carrie-Anne. This sounds like a great tale. 🙂

    Like

  5. Beautiful dresses, wow the work that went into them! Enjoyed the excerpt and of course i’m curious about her long sleeves. I really like this character!

    Like

  6. She doesn’t get it, does she? I bet he can convince her, though.

    Like

  7. I’m really starting to like him! Hope she realizes what’s going on soon. Beautiful dresses, by the way!

    Like

  8. He is so nice. And I would love to wear those and I would love to sew some too.

    Like

  9. Amalie says:

    I feel that those who DON’T feel they have to dress for a physical deformity ever think about such things, but for those who do–it’s life altering. She’s used to hiding behind her long sleeves, and she wouldn’t be comfortable without them regardless. Great use of her choice of dress to encourage speculation regarding her own secrets. 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing!

    Like

  10. Beautiful dresses. I’m curious as to why she won’t wear longer sleeves. Great snippet. 🙂

    Like

  11. P.T. Wyant says:

    “If you accept…” I wonder if she’s going to catch that. (And those dresses are gorgeous!)

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

