Dear deejays, please stop overplaying these songs!

If you celebrate Rosh Hashanah, may you have a happy, sweet New Year!

I’m glad to have discovered RealOldies on IHeartRadio, though I still listen to regular radio stations in the car. As I’ve discussed before, I’m so disappointed at how so many former oldies stations have moved over to “classic hits,” being more about music from 1975 on. I’ve developed a whole new appreciation and love of Fifties music since discovering RealOldies, after years of not hearing these songs and artists.

These are the most overplayed songs I can think of, off the top of my head. I’m not including “Won’t Get Fooled Again” and “Stairway to Heaven,” since they’re timeless classics and not songs I want to immediately switch off or change the channel on.

1. “Hotel California.” The second I hear that stupid starting note, the dial is turned or the radio goes off. I don’t really care for The Eagles anyway.

2. “American Pie.” See above. It’s been years since I actually liked this song. I far prefer Don McLean’s “Vincent” anyway.

3. “Pinball Wizard.” Nope, nope, nope, nope. I loved this song when I first heard it at 14, but now I just resent it. Pete only wrote this to try to butter up Nik Cohn (a big pinball fan) to give Tommy a better review. My boys get such precious little radio play anyway; would it absolutely kill classic rock deejays to vary up the setlist with songs like “Bargain,” “905,” “The Punk and the Godfather,” “Rael,” “Cry If You Want,” and “Postcard”?

4. “Long Cool Woman in a Black Dress.” This is one of only about 3 songs I regularly hear from The Hollies on mainstream radio anymore. As a fan of 22 years and counting, I’m well aware of how they’ve always been more popular in their native Britain, but that shouldn’t be perpetuated when their entire catalogue is now available and that élitist ass Jann Wenner finally let them into his Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

5. “Mrs. Robinson.” I even skip this song when I’m playing Bookends, and go straight from “Punky’s Dilemma” to “A Hazy Shade of Winter.”

6. and 7. “I’m a Believer” and “Daydream Believer.” I’m certainly not saying these songs suck, since I’m a proud Monkeemaniac of almost 30 years, but can we please vary it up a bit? When my fellow Monkeemaniacs and I talk about how awesome this band is, we’re not talking about the overplayed songs and bubblegum pop, but stuff like “You Told Me,” “Shades of Grey,” “Zor and Zam,” “The Door into Summer,” “Sometime in the Morning,” “The Porpoise Song,” and “Writing Wrongs.”

8. “American Woman.” I loved this song when I first heard it in eighth grade, and now it just makes me roll my eyes. Not again!

9. “Imagine.” It’s a great song, with a great message, but John had so many more songs in his solo catalogue. How about “Gimme Some Truth,” “Mother,” “God,” “Crippled Inside,” “Tight A$,” “Intuition,” “Beautiful Boy,” “Grow Old with Me,” “Steel and Glass,” or “Love”?

10. “December 1963 (Oh What a Night).” I was so crazy about this song at 13, I rewound my tape so I could listen to it again. Now I just turn the radio off or change the channel. I really doubt I would’ve ever become a Four Seasons’ fan had I started listening to oldies radio in this generation, since only a handful of their songs are played anymore. The local deejays no longer touch stuff like “Save It for Me,” “Ronnie,” “Dawn (Go Away),” “Opus 17,” “Candy Girl,” or “Bye Bye Baby.”

11. “Suspicious Minds.” Why do so many mainstream deejays only play the most unrepresentative Elvis songs these days? We want to hear his early stuff, not embarrassing milquetoast like “Return to Sender” and “Good Luck Charm.”

12. “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction.” Sorry, I love the early Rolling Stones, but I’m beyond sick of this song. These deejays should be embarrassed this is one of the few songs they can think to play, instead of “Ruby Tuesday,” “She’s a Rainbow,” “Lady Jane,” “19th Nervous Breakdown,” or “Let’s Spend the Night Together.”

13. “My Sweet Lord.” It took me a long time to appreciate this song, since it’s so overplayed! You do know George had plenty of other solo songs, don’t you? Stuff like “Pure Smokey,” “Love Comes to Everyone,” “Any Road,” “Awaiting on You All,” “Be Here Now,” “Dark Horse,” “Grey Cloudy Lies,” “Blood from a Clone,” or “The Devil’s Radio”?

14. “Dancing Queen.” How about you select something else?

15. “You’re the One That I Want.” Enough said.

16. “Hungry Like the Wolf.” Sometimes I even skip this track on Rio. God forbid a deejay use a song like “New Religion,” “Friends of Mine,” “Out of My Mind,” “Sin of the City,” “Serious,” “To the Shore,” “Too Much Information,” “Love Voodoo,” or “American Science.”

17. “Brown Eyed Girl.” You’d never guess Van Morrison has a lot more songs in his catalogue, going only by mainstream oldies radio.

18. “Margaritaville.” Enough said.

19. “Piano Man.” I loved this song when I first heard it at 14, and now I usually skip it.

20. “Do Wah Diddy Diddy.” Nope.

Are there any other songs you’d add to this list?

3 comments on “Dear deejays, please stop overplaying these songs!

  1. Most bands have more than one hit so it’s annoying when they pick just one song and play it to death.

    Like

  2. Arlee Bird says:

    I like all of these, but I guess I’d get tired if I heard them too much. I don’t listen to much in the way of rock stations so it doesn’t bother me if I hear these songs.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  3. chrysfey says:

    Imagine is a great song! I don’t listen to RealOldies.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

