In memory of Moonie (and future post plans)

In loving memory of Keith John Moon, rock’s greatest drummer ever, who left the material world 38 years ago today. When it comes to The Who, Pete has been my fave rave since age fourteen, but when I moved from casual lawn seat fan to serious, hardcore fan when I was twenty, Keith was the natural choice for my next-fave. He was just such a cutiepie, so sweet, funny, and mischievous, this tragic, haunted clown who sadly was unable to conquer his demons in time.

Since 9 September is my 15-year anniversary with my first Who album, Tommy, I have a special post planned for that day. I know most folks won’t be reading any blogs during the Labor Day weekend, so I’m saving it for Wednesday.

Other future posts include:

A post with more examples of why it’s a really bad idea to create cipher characters and storylines, instead of merely incorporating your interests or bits of your life into a story or character.

Several name-related posts.

A series on writing about body modification.

A list of some of the most overplayed songs on radio.

A post about a disappointing review of The Jazz Singer I recently watched, where the reviewers seemed to be judging it with a modern lens instead of putting themselves into the perspective of someone from 1927.

In that post, I announce my plans for a future series (in 2017) on The Jazz Singer at 90, along with listing a few of the topics I have in mind and asking for any suggestions for potential other topics to cover.

Since I really enjoyed writing and researching my recent series on BOAN at 100 and am looking forward to doing the same with The Jazz Singer in 2017, I’d like to do more series on landmark films, books, albums, and events in big anniversary years. For 2016, I’d like to do a series on Rudy Valentino, seeing as that’ll be his 90th Jahrzeit year. I also am thinking of a series on the 90th anniversary of Greta Garbo coming to the U.S. and becoming a huge star.

Would anyone be interested in anniversary posts or series on Rubber Soul (this year) and Revolver (2016)? As a passionate Monkeemaniac since the 1986 revival, I’d also love to do a 50th anniversary series on The Monkees in 2016.

1927 was such a great year for film, similar to 1939, so there are lots of other films besides The Jazz Singer I could spotlight in 2017. I’m thinking Metropolis (my first silent!), It, King of Kings, Berlin: Symphony of a Great City, The Lodger, October, and The Kid Brother. (I personally find Sunrise, an oft-praised film of 1927, quite overrated and a bit disturbing in its message.)

2016 is also the 90th anniversary year of The Adventures of Prince Achmed, a charming, sweet film animated with silhouettism, so that would also be both an interesting film and an interesting topic to discuss.

2016 is the 80th anniversary of Modern Times, my favoritest Chaplin film and a poignant farewell to the silent era. Of course I’d love to write at least one post about such a special film, Chaplin’s last stand against talkies and a great example of how films might’ve turned out if silents, sound films, and hybrids had been allowed to exist alongside one another.

Is anyone interested in an 80th anniversary post for A Night at the Opera or 90th anniversary posts for The Big Parade, Battleship Potemkin, Ben-Hur, or The Gold Rush in the remaining months of this year?

I’m not giving any clues about what my 2016 A to Z theme will be!

3 thoughts on “In memory of Moonie (and future post plans)

  1. I lot of great topics to choose from. I’m a big Al Jolson fan so I’d like to see posts about The Jazz Singer.

    The music posts all sound good as well.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

