IWSG August—Revisited priorities

I finally made myself a Facebook author page!

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

It’s time again for The Insecure Writer’s Support Group, which meets the first Wednesday of every month to commiserate over worries, fears, doubts, and struggles.

I started off the year wanting to release three books this year, but decided it might not be such a good idea to release And the Lark Arose from Sullen Earth and The Twelfth Time on account of their respective first volumes not having sold many copies. There’s no point in releasing a sequel when not many people have read the first book.

I still want to release the book formerly known as The Very First, but I’m no longer so on board with the 23 August release date I’d planned. Regular readers might know 23 August is my character Cinnimin’s birthday (born 1930), and that that date is also Rudy Valentino’s Jahrzeit (death anniversary) and Keith Moon’s birthday. Now I’m thinking I might push it off till October or November. I’d love a Halloween release, or on 25 November, the anniversary of my having created my original Atlantic City characters back in ’91.

IMG_2721

My characters of the prequel books, drawn in February 1994, when I was suffering with chickenpox. Minor disease, my gimpy right foot! I still have scab-like scars under my hair, a forever reminder of how dangerously close they got to my brain.

My original summer goal was to finish my radical rewrites and restructurings of the four books in my Atlantic City prequel series, and I was about halfway done with the third book. They’re super-short by my standards, and I was on such a roll with turning them from novella-length messes into actual novel-length stories. But I knew I had to turn my attentions back to my alternative history to get it ready for the 12 August 2016 release. That date is not changing, since it would’ve been my protagonist’s 112th birthday.

This book needs my continued full attention, not taking a break to finish the last-minute addition of a War of the Worlds chapter, one more sweep-through, then back onto my old computer to format it in Word and then convert it to HTML, plus getting back in touch with the cover artist and doing marketing efforts, and finally spot-checking it through the Kindle Preview to catch any errant typos or formatting errors.

IMG_2722

My skill at drawing human figures has considerably improved since I was 14!

I also need to take some time to republish You Cannot Kill a Swan, stripped of all those redundant accent marks, as I spoke about. This isn’t as simple as find and replace, as when I changed all those decidedly non-Russian names back in 2011. I’ll have this same issue with stripping The Twelfth Time of all its redundant accents, since there are some words which do need accents. I’ve prepared a list of words which I know will need to be promptly changed back, like café, fiancé/e, and émigré/e. There are also some French lines in The Twelfth Time (nothing too fancy or tricky, just when the adults don’t want the children to understand), and French is a language which does need accent marks.

IMG_3713

Can anyone help me out by suggesting any other common French loan words (or other words/names) with an accent aigu I forgot?

0_155e71_3e345e46_orig

What do you think of this as the back cover picture for my alternative history? Like with the front cover image, it was really important to find not only an image most people haven’t already seen thousands of times, but also with enough room for text, and dimensions adapting easily to a book cover.

I’ll still be rewarding myself with my fourth lobe piercings at the end of the summer for all my writing progress. I’m really looking forward to having quadruple-pierced ears! My piercer found a perfect spot on my left ear for a fourth lobe piercing, and there’s hopefully just enough room on my smaller right ear for a fourth lobe piercing. If not, I’ll get a helix or conch piercing on the little ear.

16 comments on “IWSG August—Revisited priorities

  1. I think that would make for a great image on the back cover.
    Keith Moon is really old. I’m stunned he’s still alive.

    Like

  2. Sounds like a good idea to reassess goals mid-year. You’ll probably be happier with where you end up by adjusting. I was just at a conference where indie publishing is talked about a lot. It’s a tough road. Even the authors with decent sales are working really hard at marketing and promotion, and different methods have different results, so no one size fits all. Cover art is a biggie, so if your back cover image is similar (enough ) to what other authors are doing in your genre, I say go for it. Especially if what you’ve found is a not as common image, that helps too.

    Like

  3. Arlee Bird says:

    I’ve heard that it is advantageous to have a decent back catalog of books so maybe it wouldn’t hurt to release 3 in a year–thinking of future marketing potential.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  4. Yay for the Facebook pate! You’re making progress, woman!

    Like

  5. chrysfey says:

    Pushing back the release date might give you more time to prepare and plan your release and promotion. Small sales shouldn’t mean much. Just keep publishing! I’ve heard that sequels actually get readers to pick up the first book. And you can work on getting more sales for the first books before you publish the sequels.

    Like

  6. doreenb8 says:

    I heard that sequels get people interested in the prior books too. I think if you aren’t prepared you should push the date back.
    I liked your facebook page:)

    Like

  7. I like how you keep these meaningful dates in mind. Sometimes I want to get something out fast or I have a year in mind, but waiting on things gives me more time to prepare for editing and the release.

    Like

  8. ahtdoucette says:

    I love your journaling and your sticking with it ness. Did you know, my name is French-Canadian? It means little softness or so people have told me. I don’t speak any French though. I think you can configure a grammar checker to look for things like that and point them out to you, although I can’t remember the specifics. That’s incredible attention to detail, straightening that stuff out.

    Like

  9. yvettecarol says:

    I love that image for the back cover, Carrie-Anne. Your progress sounds really exciting. You’re doing the work, so keep going! Good luck 🙂

    Like

  10. Diane Burton says:

    Have you heard the saying that nothing sells your first book like your 2nd, 3rd, etc.? It is true. If your books (sequels) are ready, release them. You’ll be surprised at the sales for the 1st book.

    Best wishes,
    Diane IWSG #95

    Like

  11. That is a fantastic image for the back cover! You have done so much work. You amaze me. Good luck!

    Like

  12. Nicki Elson says:

    I like that for a back cover! I’m so impressed with how you keep all these histories and stories straight.

    Good luck with the piercing & have fun picking your new earring combos. .

    Like

  13. shanjeniah says:

    I love that image, and think it’s perfect for a back cover – very evocative,and visually inviting the reader inside. And, like you observed, there’s lots of open space for your text.

    Ruth Nestvold (Indie Adventures) broke her longer historical, Yseult, into four separate books, offered I think a few weeks apart. I know her sales picked up; some people will happily read four shorter books when they might not read one long one. I don’t know if that’s an option, but I do believe that each book you publish will stir some interest in previous and subsequent ones.

    As for the timing, I’m guessing you have a better idea of how you tick, and what needs to be done for each project, than any of us do…so I’d say, go with your best instincts.

    I know that whatever you do, you’re offering something terrific.

    Side note: August 23 is a pretty special date in my life – it’s my wedding anniversary. =)

    Like

  14. I’ve heard the same about how people will pick up first books when there are sequels…it’s tough, but I’d say do what’s right for you and give yourself time 🙂

    Like

  15. I agree with others. I think that if you release the other books, people will probably buy your first book. Crazy how that works, but it’s true! Good luck:)

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

