WeWriWa—Offered a ride

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4
Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors, a weekly Sunday hop where writers share 8–10 sentences from a book or WIP. This week’s snippet immediately follows last week’s, as dinner has ended and Arkadiya Gagarina prepares to go back to her hotel. The day’s events get more and more incredulous when she’s offered a ride back.

Sankt-Peterburg_oldfoto_13611

My current desktop picture

“Would you prefer to be taken back to your hotel by car or carriage?” Aleksey asked after several servants had cleared the table.

“Oh, no, it’s only about twenty minutes to the nearest tram station,” Arkadiya protested. “I rode the tram here by myself just fine.”

“That was during daylight.  A woman shouldn’t travel after dark alone, particularly not a princess.  It’s nothing doing, just another of my duties.”

“Well, if you absolutely insist, I don’t mind a car.  I’ve never ridden in a car before.”

“Have you a preference?  I’ve got a Rochet-Schneider, a Rolls-Royce Silver Ghost, a Duesenberg, a Chrysler Imperial Touring, and a Bentley.”

******************************************

My dream hobby is collecting, repairing, driving, and showing antique cars, particularly Brass Age. I love working my favorite models into my books, particularly my dream car, the Duesenberg. Contrary to stereotypes, this isn’t a hobby or interest only for men!

I recently made the decision to stop using accent marks in Russian words and names. After 19 years, it was surprisingly easy to give it up cold turkey. It feels pretty liberating to no longer feel bound to this nitpicky habit I’d had since age 16, probably as a way to overcompensate for how badly I transliterated when I first learnt the Russian alphabet at 13.

12 thoughts on “WeWriWa—Offered a ride

  1. Love the snippet, the flirting and the sweet attraction. Well done. Love that he’s going to be the first…the first to take her for a car ride. 🙂

    So we know a little more about you too and one of your hobbies. 🙂

    Like

  2. Carrie-Anne… we must talk cars some day. My father instilled me with a passion for cars early on (he liked to collect orphans and try to fix them up… though the DKW he bought never got fixed). I once shared a similar dream hobby (along with buying old mansions and fixing them up just to create bookstores, libraries, museums, and retreats… if I had unlimited money, I’d be having a lot of fun).

    I love how Aleksey is trying to impress her.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

