WIPpet Wednesday—A special Easter gift

July first is a very special day for me, since it was on that day in 2003 that I first (properly) heard All Things Must Pass, which has become my next-favorite album. My parents had sometimes played it in the car when I was younger, but I can’t recall if I ever heard it all the way through till that day. I never listen to the five jam sessions at the end, but the first 18 tracks constitute one of the greatest albums of all time.

As my regular readers might remember, George Harrison is my favorite solo Beatle, and one of my spiritual mentors. It’s hard to put into words what his music and life mean to me, and why I love him so much. He was just such a special, beautiful person, with such an incredibly deep soul. Even his last words were beautiful and profound. “Everything else can wait, but the search for God cannot wait, and love one another.”

******************************

WIPpet Wednesday is a weekly bloghop hosted by K.L. Schwengel. The caveat is that excerpts must be related to the date in some way. 7+1=8, so there are eight paragraphs this week. I really appreciate everyone’s comments on last week’s excerpt, and will accordingly revise the dialogue which sounded a bit infodumpy or awkward.

It’s Easter 1919, and Grand Duke Mikhail has just given Fabergé eggs to his wife, son, stepdaughter, nephew, and nieces.

Aleksandr Palace Fabergé egg (1908), Copyright user:shakko

“Did you give Babushka a Fabergé egg too?” Aleksey asked as he looked at the dark green egg decorated with silver curlicues. “She’s so used to receiving them.”

“Of course.  Don’t even try to refuse these, any of you.  You really deserve them, after the terrible ordeal you went through.”

“Some fancy egg can’t bring back my parents or erase the memory of that night in the cellar.”

“Just wait’ll you see what the surprises are.”

Tsesarevich Fabergé egg (1912), Copyright Franco_aq

Aleksey opened the egg to reveal a ruby heart.  When he pushed a tiny button, the heart opened to reveal a small watercolor of his parents, framed by minuscule diamonds.  On the back of the image, their names and dates they’d lived were engraved in silver.  They looked so vibrant, young, healthy, and alive, not the unhappy way they’d looked during the final months of captivity.

“Now whenever you miss your parents, you can just open the egg and see them.  It can’t bring them back from the dead, but at least they’ll be right there for you to look at.” Mikhail hugged his nephew. “Your parents would be very proud of you from the other world.”

“I can’t believe you commissioned this just for me.  It’s too nice and personal.  You really didn’t have to spend so much money on all of us.”

“Money is no object when it comes to making my family happy, particularly after what we’ve survived.  Please, it’s yours to keep.  Why don’t you put it on your desk or nightstand, so it’s always as close as possible?”

5 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesday—A special Easter gift

  1. I’ve always loved the Faberge eggs. The one you describe, with the ruby heart…perfect for the young Tsareivich (Not sure I’m spelling that properly).

    At the end, the dialogue feels a little forced – but I also think it might work, with men trying to discuss emotional upheaval…it might be very natural to be a bit too formal and forceful about having made such a tender and thoughtful gesture.

    George Harrison was a beautiful soul. My musical heart belongs to Paul Simon, but George is my favorite Beatle, too. Those are some profound last words.

    Like

    • The proper legal title was Tsesarevich, though, like most people, I unknowingly, erroneously used the misleading, inaccurate title Tsarevich until last year. I have a future post explaining the difference between the titles tsarevich, tsesarevich, tsarevna, and tsesarevna. The short of it is that tsarevich, from 1797, referred to any son of a tsar, though it was used for the heir apparent or presumptive till 1721. Tsesarevich was a title created in 1762, and the only word Russians used to refer to their heirs. I’m glad to see the proper legal title slowly appearing in more books about Imperial Russia, instead of Tsarevich.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m with Shan on thinking the dialogue at the end feels somewhat forced. Calling a gift “too nice and personal” while perhaps true, feels overly stiff and ritual in the face of love and affection… and gifts. Also, as you not the smiles on his parents’ faces in the image, I think Mikhail chose that image for a reason as well… and perhaps that could be drawn out more?

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

