RSW Third Update

RSW11

Ready. Set. Write! is a summer-long initiative hosted by Alison MillerKaty UppermanElodie NowodazkijJaime Morrow, and Erin Funk. Each week, participants post brief updates under five headings.

  • How I did on last week’s goal(s)

I pushed through and finished Part I, writing about 7,000 words. As emotionally difficult as it was, I had to do it, not only to fill in that particular gap in the book, but also for my dear protagonist. I’ve felt a suprarational soul connection to him for 20 years now, and now I’m entrusted with giving him a happy ending and being his fairy godmother.

Alexei-3

  • My goal(s) for this week

Get some more work done on the barely-completed Part II. As of now, there are only three partly-written chapters. My working table of contents has 13 chapters for Part II, and most of them are set in Paris. I’ve got some research to do into the Belleville section of the Twentieth Arrondissement, as well as the entire Part II to be plotted beyond a general sense of what happens.

  • A favorite line from my story OR a word or phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised

Worse than the thought of being forever denied freedom was the thought of dying when he still had so much life left to live.  He’d had no control over having been born either sick or the heir to the throne, but he’d also been born to live, and as long as there was still breath within his body, he was going to do all he could to preserve his own life.

  • The biggest challenge I faced this week

I’ll be discussing this more in Wednesday’s post, but after 19 years, I’m suddenly cooling to my style of using accent marks in Russian words and names. Even if I had my own reasons for having begun this habit, and reasons I found to continue it all these years, I just feel like it no longer works for me, looks awkward and pretentious, and actually slows my typing speed down.

  • Something I love about my WIP

The chance to take my protagonist from a sickly, depressed, emotionally scarred, uncertain young man in his early teens to a reasonably healthy, strong adult with his own mind, forging a new path for the Russian Empire and ruling with the right combination of a strong arm and a soft heart (plus a beautiful, compassionate princess to marry). It reminds me a bit of my other major hemophiliac character, Philip Green II (Kit’s firstborn), and the moment when he goes from a boy defined by his sickness to simply Philip, a normal young man who just happens to have a disease.

7 thoughts on “RSW Third Update

  1. Congratulations on finishing Part 1!!!! That’s great.

    As a reader, I think reading a book with Russian marks would confuse me and slow down my reading, so I’m glad that you’re using less of them. I think that’ll be good for many readers. 🙂

    Like

    • There are a lot of Romanovs still alive, with the ones closest to him descended from his aunts Olga and Xenia (Kseniya), the only members of the immediate Imperial Family who survived the Revolution. Sadly, his uncle Mikhail’s only blood child died in a car accident at 21, and died without issue. There are also descendants from the Hessian side of his family, since he had a lot of aunts and one surviving uncle.

      Like

  2. That’s a great way of putting it, seeing yourself as your mc’s fairy godmother. It kind of encapsulates what it’s like to be a writer. Good luck with this week’s goals!

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

