RSW First Update

RSW11

Ready. Set. Write! is a summer-long initiative hosted by Alison MillerKaty UppermanElodie NowodazkijJaime Morrow, and Erin Funk. Each week, participants post brief updates under five headings.

  • How I did on last week’s goal(s)

I started the week at 84,000 words and am now up to 96,000. I deliberately wrote it out of order during NaNo (when I wrote just shy of 75K), but now I’m going back through in order and filling in all the gaps and unfinished chapters.

  • My goal(s) for this week

To break 100K and to hopefully finish Part I.

  • A favorite line from my story OR a word or phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised

These are the closing lines of Chapter 6, “Heading Home,” featuring our now-14-year-old protagonist and his dear dog Joy (a male, in spite of the name). In real life, Joy was the only member of the Imperial Family who survived, and spent his final years by Windsor Castle.

0f9c2-tumblr_mlvoehnfoy1qbioujo1_500

Once the door was closed, Alekséy moved from the bench into the bed and lay down. After Joy had jumped into the bed, he closed his eyes, in pursuit of the sleep which had eluded him since that nightmarish cataclysm in the cellar. He didn’t sleep very soundly anymore, and more often than not was racked by nightmares, either of the carnage in the cellar or the images of his parents’ bloody, macabre, mutilated bodies. Sometimes he even dreamt of his entire family, their three dogs, and all four of their retainers lying dead on the floor, in the truck the ringleader had spoken of, or being desecrated in all sorts of sinister, barbaric, soulless ways in the forest. All these nightmares, no matter what they were, had the terrifying soundtrack of his sisters’ frantic screams and the cacophony of bullets.

“I’m glad I’ve still got you, Joy,” he whispered to his faithful dog. “I’m even less normal than I was before, but at least I’ve got you to be abnormal with. God really knew what he was doing when he created animals, since you never judge or shun people for not being exactly a certain way. If only I could be sure all the people I’ll have to deal with when I’m Tsar are as open-minded, accepting, and non-judgmental as you.”

  • The biggest challenge I faced this week

A rather embarrassing overall challenge I’ve been facing, since November, is that I honestly can’t think of anything to do with Grand Duchess Anastasiya, not even whom she should marry (though I’m now leaning towards Prince Roman Petrovich). I’ve found uses for the older three sisters, but keep coming up blank for the youngest. This is particularly embarrassing on account of how I actually wrote an entire research paper about her in high school! (Technically, most of the paper was on Franziska Schanzkowska, but I didn’t know it at the time.) Even though this isn’t the sisters’ story, they do play a fairly important role in Part I.

  • Something I love about my WIP

Being able to write so many happy endings and continued lives for so many people who were murdered in real life, when they’d barely just begun to live.

15 comments on “RSW First Update

  1. Nothing wrong with happy endings.
    I bet you hit your target word count and then some!

    Like

  2. Jaime Morrow says:

    I often write out of order, so I end up having to go back and fill in the gaps too. Hope you’re able to do so with very little stress! Have a great week, Carrie-Anne!

    Like

  3. Chrys Fey says:

    “…but at least I’ve got you to be abnormal with” I love that! Pets are the best because they don’t care what you look like, if you have a disability, or are poor. All they want is love and give love back. 🙂

    Like

  4. Stephanie Scott says:

    I love that idea of creating an alternate happy ending for those who did not have it in real life. I don’t always need a happy ending to my reading choices. but I do value them 🙂

    Like

  5. I love that you’re reimagining these historical events and people and giving them happy endings, Carrie-Anne. What awesome motivation to write! Best of luck with your goals in the coming week!

    Like

  6. Kimberly G. Giarratano says:

    I find that gif to be haunting, but in a good way. I love historical fiction. Best of luck for this week.

    Like

  7. Wow, you got an awesome amount written last week! Love, love, love the idea of giving people the happy endings that they didn’t get in life. Good luck this week! 🙂

    Like

  8. Alison Miller says:

    You are killing it with the word count! And what you love about your stories is SO INTRIGUING. Hope you have another wonderful writing week!

    Like

  9. aah, your excerpt…chills. So awesome with your word count too!! Love animals in stores. they’re so faithful and loving.

    Like

  10. Erin Funk says:

    There’s nothing like a happy ending. Glad you enjoy writing them. Good luck on your goal of reaching 100k next week!

    Like

  11. Eve says:

    You can do it 100K here you come! And yes writing out of order can give you lots to go back in and play with.

    Like

  12. Kitty says:

    Your WiP sounds fascinating! Congrats on pumping out all those words last week. I’m guessing you’ll have no problem hitting 100k this week. 🙂 Have a great week!

    Like

  13. klelange says:

    Congrats on your progress! Thanks for sharing; I need to implement similar ideas to make better progress overall. Thanks also for stopping at my blog for Alex’s posts. Have a great week!

    Like

  14. omg what an awesome aspect to historical fiction, getting to let people live their lives in happier notes than what happened to them in real life. You’re kicking ass at growing that word count!

    Like

  15. Whoo, that’s a great increase in your word count! Great job!

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

