Ready. Set. Write! 2015 kick-off

RSW11

For the third year in a row, Alison MillerKaty Upperman, Elodie NowodazkijJaime Morrow, and Erin Funk are once again hosting the summerlong Ready. Set. Write! initiative. The kick-off post will be goal-setting for the week and summer. When I meet my goal, I’m rewarding myself with my fourth lobe piercings.

For most of this year, I’ve been working really hard on the long-overdue radical rewrites and restructurings of my first four Atlantic City books, what I call my prequel series even though, publication-wise, they’re not prequels to anything. I thought I was almost done with the book formerly known as The Very First, and then realised I forgot to write a chapter about the famous (if rather overhyped) War of the Worlds scare. If you’re writing a book set in the U.S. in 1938, it rather behooves you to include it in some way!

The book formerly known as The Very First went from 38,000 words to over 64,000, and was perhaps one of the most radical rewrites I’ve ever done, since it involved junking almost the entire original Part I and a fair bit of the original Part II material, and writing a lot of new chapters and scenes from scratch. The book formerly known as The Very Next went from a hot 24,000-word mess to 75,000 words of an actual story, only about 10–20% of which comes from the original material.

The book formerly known as The Very Last began at 35,000 words, and is my current focus. Of all four prequel books, I had the most fun writing this one, and it also has the strongest writing. Thus, there are really only specific sections and chapters which need radical rewriting, plus some chapters which need to be created brand-new. Next up will be the book currently known as Almost As an Afterthought: The First Six Months of 1941. Since it’s novelette-length, only 11,000 words, I’m aiming for at least 40,000 words.

************************

Yes, the first three books finally have new and improved titles, but I’m keeping each secret till their respective releases. The most I’ll hint is that the new title for The Very Last was inspired by a Lon Chaney, Sr., film, with a poignant intertitle Cinni quotes several times.

My summer goal is to be finished with all this rewriting, and to be closer to finishing Alyosha’s story. It’s got 84,000 words (out of a guesstimated 150/200K), but I deliberately wrote it out of order, with a lot of gaps and unfinished chapters to get back to. My hoped-for release date is 12 August 2016, what would’ve been my protagonist’s 112th birthday. Doesn’t this beautiful boy deserve a fairy godmother to write him the happy ending he was denied in this life?

Alexei_Nikolaievich_of_Russia_aboard_the_Standart

21 comments on “Ready. Set. Write! 2015 kick-off

  1. Can’t wait to hear the new titles. Cool you are including the War of the Worlds scare. That was a big thing when it happened.

    Like

  2. Pax Asteriae says:

    Ahhh, your post has lured me into it as well. Thank you, I’ve been needing a bit of a kick. 🙂

    They sound like great goals! Good luck~!

    Like

  3. Chrys Fey says:

    38,000 to 64,000 is a big rewrite! I too am interested in hearing what the new titles are. 🙂

    Good luck with your goals!

    Like

  4. Jaime Morrow says:

    Good luck with your goals this summer, Carrie-Anne!

    Like

  5. Those are huge rewrites! but it sounds so interesting. Good luck getting those goals!

    Like

  6. Erin Funk says:

    Best of luck with your writing goals this summer!

    Like

  7. Great goals! Love that picture. Good luck this week! 🙂

    Like

  8. I am in awe of historical writers–you have so much to keep track of. *bows down* Good luck this summer!

    Like

  9. Kimberly G. Giarratano says:

    OMG — I want to read all your stuff. I love historical fiction and I’m a Jersey girl to boot.

    Like

  10. Alexa says:

    Good Luck with your goals! Sounds like you have s busy summer ahead!

    Like

  11. sbcrispell says:

    Good luck with all of the revisions this summer!

    Like

  12. Good luck with your rewrites!

    Like

  13. So glad you’re joining us this summer, Carrie-Anne! Best of luck with your goals!

    Like

  14. Alison Miller says:

    I love the reward you set for yourself. I am definitely going to have to do that. Well, not a fourth piercing. But definitely a tattoo! Also, so glad you’re joining us again! Good luck this week!

    Like

  15. Woo, we can get it all done this summer! 🙂

    Like

  16. Eden says:

    I love the titles, Carrie-Anne. Sounds like the way I name things some days… Dots, Stuff, More Stuff, Phuque U…

    Of course that sweet boy deserves the happy ending… He’s lucky to have you giving it to him.

    Like

  17. Good luck with your rewrites! It sounds like you have some hefty work cut out from you, but it’ll be worth it! ❤

    Like

  18. I’m so impressed with the goals that you set and the fact that you reach them! Good luck with them this summer, but I’m sure you’ll do amazing each week!

    Like

  19. shanjeniah says:

    I still want to hug that sweet baby boy – gently, and repeatedly. He deserved to live. He fought hard to live.

    Sometimes humans aren’t so nice a species to belong to….

    Can’t wait to see the piercing, because I have no doubt that you’ll finish.

    And you talked me into it, too! =)

    Like

  20. Laura C says:

    Good luck with your re-writes, I hope they go well 😀

    Like

  21. […] With my ear never to the ground as usual, I didn’t know about this until today when Carrie-Anne Brownian posted about it on her blog. […]

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

