IWSG—Some odds and sods for June

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

The first Wednesday of every month, The Insecure Writer’s Support Group convenes to share struggles, insecurities, triumphs, doubts, and other odds and sods.

First off, I’m no longer so sure about releasing three books this year. I’m still committed to releasing the book formerly known as The Very First (new title a secret) on 23 August, but I have no reason to think it’s worth it to put out And the Lark Arose from Sullen Earth and The Twelfth Time: Lyuba and Ivan on the Rocks when my sales for the previous books have been so embarrassing and dismal. What’s the point of releasing a sequel when not many people have read the respective first books?

Secondly, is anyone willing, interested, and able in letting me guest post, do an interview, or do some sort of book blog tour for the book formerly known as The Very First? I’m really, really proud of all the hard work I put into this book over the years, particularly considering the unprecedented radical rewrite and restructuring I had to undertake in 2011 and 2012. I put in yet more work this year, getting it to the most perfect state possible. I’d hate for this release to be just as much of a failure as my other releases have been so far.

I do want to have physical copies for this book, particularly since it’s geared more towards younger readers (a mature age twelve and up). People that age tend to do most of their reading the old-fashioned way. I don’t like pigeonholing my work into just one rigid, age-based category, but I’d call it mature MG-ish.

Third, I really need an author tagline and a better blog banner. It’s embarrassing to know it’s cut off on the right on mobile devices, no matter how I’ve tried to size down my text.

Fourth, I feel like I’m hitting a hump in my ongoing radical rewrite and restructuring of my Atlantic City prequel series. I’m currently on the third book out of four, and around halfway done. This one needs relatively less work than the others, and only has specific areas which need more attention. I kind of wish I hadn’t committed to writing a new chapter about the Portuguese World’s Fair, after discovering how difficult it is to find detailed information on the exhibits and attractions. The new chapter on the World’s Fair in New York will be so much easier, since there’s a plethora of detailed information, much of which I used for the World’s Fair chapter which closed Part II of Journey Through a Dark Forest.

Maybe this really isn’t a true hump and boredom, but rather a reminder I need to get back to my alternative history full-time. I’m really feeling pulled back towards it a lot lately, and even having a few dreams about it again. It’s almost like my dear protagonist, from the other world, is putting a bug in my ear and begging me to resume his story.

16 comments on “IWSG—Some odds and sods for June

  1. Chrys Fey says:

    I’ve been asking myself the same thing with 30 Seconds. I wrote a prequel that I love as it really sets up the story, but 30 Second has had very small sales compared to my other titles and little reviews. But prequels and sequels can provide a push for the first book and possibly bring in more sales.

    I tell you all the time that I’d have you on my blog. From August to the end of the year I’m open for guests. We can do whatever you want! 🙂

    Like

  2. Stephanie Scott says:

    I wish I had answers for you! Publishing, especially when you take the risk yourself, is full of so many questions. Some friends of mine say that the Yahoo group called Self Publishing is really helpful. It’s free, you just need to connect a yahoo email address. And probably set the email alerts to a daily digest because it’s a very active group. It’s all writers helping each other with the same self-pub questions you probably have.

    Like

  3. Sounds like you have a lot going on with lots of decisions to be made. No every book will do great but the more books you have published, the better. I would republish those others.

    Like

  4. mpax1 says:

    I have a book that doesn’t really sell. My others sell better, so I concentrate on those. Some day, I’ll finish the series for the nonselling one. Maybe that will help boost sales. Shrug. There doesn’t seem to be a science to book sales. I’d be happy to host you on my blog. I have all of July open. http://mpaxauthor.com

    Like

  5. If you’re interested, I’d love to do an interview with you for Behind The Scenes. The series will be going on a break soon though, so I don’t know if you’d still be interested in an August after break sort of schedule. If the series does not interest you, I’m open for guest posts as well. Unfortunately, I can’t give you any advice, as you’re way ahead of me when it comes to publishing books, but I’ll say that definitely prioritize the first book’s marketing plan, etc. first before the sequels. Good luck whatever you decide!

    Like

  6. Michelle A says:

    I’d be open to a guest post or an interview whenever you’d like.

    Like

  7. You know my blog is always open for a guest post! Pick a Monday.

    Like

  8. I love to host other writers on my blog in the summer. Just let me know when and what you’d like to do. Email me at charity.bradford@gmail.com.

    Like

  9. Nick Wilford says:

    First of all, I love the phrase “odds and sods” – think it sums up what I’m doing at the moment as well. 🙂 Second of all, I’d love to have you over for a blog tour or any guest post – just give me a shout. Last, as you’re keen on having a physical presence for this book, how about investigating local bookshops to get in their MG section or even giving some talks in local schools? Go straight to the readership. Although it’s a global community, a local angle can be very valuable.

    Like

  10. I’d be happy to host you too. I’m flexible with dates and guest posts. Good luck and have fun!

    Like

  11. Sounds like you have a lot going on!! Take it one project at a time and Best of Luck 🙂

    PS… Look up fellow blogger Carrie Butler… she is *awesome* at working with blog sites and her fees are very reasonable (she fixed my blog 🙂

    Like

  12. jamieayres says:

    I’m off social media for a while, but I’d be happy to host you anytime in August or afterward 🙂

    Like

  13. Nicki Elson says:

    I’d love to have you over at my blog for a guest post or interview. Let me know which you prefer and the timing. You can e-mail me at elson.nicki@gmail.com.

    You’ve got so much going on! If he’s talking to you in your dreams, I think you’d better listen.

    Like

  14. I’d be happy to read and review your book. Also, I’d love to do an interview with you on my blog. I love Middle Grade, and I teach piano to many kids in that age group.
    mary.aalgaard at yahoo com.
    Play off the Page

    Like

  15. Hi, Carrie,

    Sounds like you are really spreading yourself a bit… Take a deeeeeep breath and focus on ONE project. Give it your FULL attention and then move on to the others.

    I’d be more than happy to host you sometime after summer. I am SWAMPED with life issues at the moment..

    Take care…

    Like

  16. Arlee Bird says:

    When do you want to do a guest post? I could probably set you up for August sometime or even after that Let me know when and what you might like to post about and I’ll consult with you further. jacksonlee51 at aol dot com

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Road trippin’ with A to Z
    Tossing It Out

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

