WeWriWa— “Baby isn’t a normal heir”

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4
Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors, a weekly Sunday hop where writers share 8–10 sentences from a book or WIP. This week’s snippet comes right after last week’s, as the Dowager Empress has been told by both her grandson and only surviving son that Aleksey will be going to the Sorbonne instead of officially coming to the throne and marrying on his upcoming 18th birthday. Her attempted lectures haven’t worked on either of them, and they continue insisting this is the wisest course of action.

Maria_Feodorovna_by_Kramskoj

“Baby isn’t a normal heir,” the Dowager Empress insisted. “I’ll feel more at ease knowing he’s produced at least one son before God takes him.  You can go on being the Regent while that child grows up, and in perhaps twenty-five or thirty years, when God calls you home, Baby’s heir will become Tsar.  Just the way it should be.”

“I want to go to the Sorbonne,” Alekséy repeated. “Dyadya Mísha even suggested it for me, instead of a Russian university where everyone would recognize me and never leave me alone.  But don’t worry about my health and safety, since I’ll be living with plenty of bodyguards and doctors.  I’m not stupid enough to go so far away without protection and medical care.”

13 comments on “WeWriWa— “Baby isn’t a normal heir”

  1. Aleksey sounds so mature and responsible. He always looked wise beyond his years in photographs, I though.

    Like

  2. Sarah W says:

    That she calls him “Baby” and is still dismissing his attempts to grow up would be laughable if it weren’t so dangerous. Russia deserves better than its traditions, at this point, in this story, even if few believe it.

    Like

  3. I can’t imagine people planning out children’s futures like that, but I guess royalty has expectations.

    Like

  4. Alexis Duran says:

    She’s calling him Baby yet wants him to marry and become Tsar. No irony there! I’m glad you’re giving Aleksey more opportunities to grow.

    Like

  5. Love your snippets — rich in imagery, history and the pictures that make your stories come alive.Awesome!

    Like

  6. Eden says:

    The Empress Dowager is clearly in a bad state herself. One can almost taste her fear (after what has so recently happened in their lives, how could she not be afraid). But Aleksey needs to be strong here and stand by his convictions. She’s worried now, but knowing how strong he can be will reassure her as time passes.

    Like

  7. Wow, I want her pearls!!! I agree with the others that her calling Aleksey “baby” certainly gives us a clue to her mindset. I’m glad in this alternate history he’s so clear thinking and self protective. Another excellent excerpt.

    Like

  8. caitlinstern says:

    She’s not expecting much of a life span out of him is she? I get why, but still… it’s like he’s already dead to her, and the poor young man just wants to live!

    Like

  9. Aleksey sounds like a young man his parents would have been proud of. Nice snippet.

    Like

  10. Jenna Jaxon says:

    She’s obviously not taking it into consideration that he’s already lived 17 years and is still alive and very intelligent. If left alone, I’m sure he will live a long and productive life. Too bad this timeline didn’t happen. But I’m rooting for Aleksey in this life. 🙂 Great character sketches.

    Like

  11. Whew! I’m glad I’m not royalty. (Though, Ancestry.com has me off by about twenty-five generations. LOL)

    Like

  12. Karen Michelle Nutt says:

    He’s wise already. It seems he’s thought of his future also.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

