WIPpet Wednesday—A sisterly lecture

Since What’s Up Wednesday has been retired, I’m now taking part in WIPpet Wednesday, hosted by K.L. Schwengel. The caveat to participating is that the excerpt must adhere in some way to math related to the date. Since five plus thirteen equals eighteen (one of my lucky numbers and the date of my English birthday), I’m sharing eighteen lines.

This comes from the second chapter of my alternative history in progress, And Aleksey Lived, a what-if fantasy about the unlikeliest Tsar in history. I originally started this story back in ’96 and did a bit more work on it in 2001, but I realised I had to start fresh, with only the same general idea and a few of the same storylines. The original version was just a bad gimmick, the journals of five young women from succeeding eras of Russian history. I also originally had the entire Imperial Family being rescued, but that wouldn’t have worked out well for anyone, and didn’t create any real challenges for my protagonist.

The morning after the miraculous rescue of the Imperial children and two of their retainers, 13-year-old Aleksey initially thinks it was all a nightmare. He’s in a state of shock as his saviors take him down to breakfast in his murdered mother’s wheelchair. At the table, his 21-year-old sister Tatyana urges him to look after himself so he’ll recover all that lost strength and health. I chose her because she was known as the responsible one who always looked after her younger siblings.

Николай-Алексей-Татьяна

“You need to eat your fill, Sunbeam, instead of just pushing it around the plate,” Tatyana said after the soldiers had left them in peace. “You’ve lost too much weight, on top of your injured knee.  Now that we have real food again, it’s your duty to eat as much as possible.  Your strength won’t regain itself.”

“I’m not hungry.”

“You have to be as hungry as any of us.  Just look at all this wonderful food the soldiers found for us.  You only got so sickly and injured yourself twice in a row because you weren’t getting enough to eat, and didn’t have enough fresh air and sunlight.  Now you have no choice but to look after yourself.  You do want to live long enough to assume the throne, don’t you?”

“I never really cared about that too much.  It was just a position I was born into, not something I was particularly looking forward to.  Someone has to be Tsar, and it just happens to be me, even if I’m no one’s idea of a real Tsar.” He plunged a fork into a poached egg and watched the runny yellow yolk running all over the plate.

“You have to be the Tsar.  It’s what you were born to be.  This also means you need to take extra-good care of yourself from now on.  No more riding sleds down stairs, jumping out of boats, roughhousing, chopping wood, or sliding down ice mountains.”

14 comments on “WIPpet Wednesday—A sisterly lecture

  1. ReGi McClain says:

    Nice detail with the egg yolk. That lecture at the end is hysterical. “Time to be king. No more being a regular kid.” 😛

    Like

  2. shanjeniah says:

    Egads, do I loathe runny egg yolks! I’m with Aleksey – I’m not hungry for THAT!

    Since I live with a 13 year old boy, I know well the combination of new maturity and stil-a-kid silliness of the age…Tatyana captures it perfectly, here…

    And how terrible to be using your dead mother’s wheelchair – sitting literally in the lap of tragedy…

    Like

  3. Kate Sparkes says:

    Welcome to WIPpet Wednesday! I only participate every few weeks, but I look forward to reading your posts. 🙂

    I’m going to make poached eggs now. I feel bad for the kid, but man does that sound good…

    Like

  4. Emily Witt says:

    I love runny egg yolk! Tatyana seems very sweet, and I like the way you’ve woven a lot of information into her dialogue without it seeming info-dumpy.

    Like

  5. Amy says:

    Ooh, I’m with him. I like runny yolks, but not when it’s a poached egg. Fully cooked, thanks. And her lecture is too funny. She’s just the right combination of loving and bossy here.

    Like

  6. Great old photo. I look at those young people and wonder what their lives would be like, too, if they were left alone to survive and prosper.

    Like

  7. Chrys Fey says:

    I love poached eggs and running egg yolk. 😛 T

    Like

  8. Eden says:

    I have to wonder if they’ve thought about the idea that there doesn’t need to be a Tsar at all…. Not for the story, but for the two themselves t add another layer of “why do I have to eat this?” … stuff like that.

    I love this scene though. So very, very human. Beautifully done.

    Like

  9. A nicely written tidbit. You’ve captured a wonderful picture of a typical kid with Aleksey even if he does have the weight of being Tsar hanging over him.

    Like

  10. But SIS! You make being king sound like no fun at all! I like how she’s doing her best to take care of him, even in the midst of such extreme loss and tragedy. Aleksey is very aware, it seems, about his role and his opinion on that. That could lead to some interesting conflict down the road.

    Like

  11. jazzfeathers says:

    I really like the interaction betweent he two siblings. They both seem mature and childish at the same time. Aleksay’s attitude is particularly intersting, because he seems to have a very clear idea of what being Tzar means (like a man) but he thinks he can just decide not to be it (like a child).

    Will you be posting more snippets abotu your story? 🙂

    Like

    • Carrie-Anne says:

      I’ll be posting snippets on Wednesdays and Sundays for awhile longer, though I may break around August to start promoting the book I’m releasing then.

      Freud would’ve had a field day with this family, for so many reasons. These children were so cloistered, particularly the girls, and that did things to their minds. Aleksey interacted more with other people, both relatives and outsiders, than his sisters, which led to this interesting dichotomy where he was both mature beyond his years and yet more childlike in other ways.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Pax Asteriae says:

    She’s definitely very responsible, isn’t she? I feel like I should be behaving myself too… Aleksey sounds like he was a bit of a handful before, but very sweet as well, and I love the way you’ve conveyed their relationship so wonderfully in their dialogue.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

