WIPpet Wednesday—Rescued in the nick of time

Since What’s Up Wednesday has been retired, I’m trying out a new Wednesday feature, WIPpet Wednesday, hosted by K.L. Schwengel. The caveat to participating is that the excerpt must adhere in some way to math related to the date. Since five plus six equals eleven (my lucky number), I’m sharing the first eleven paragraphs of my WIP. It’s an alternative history which allows me to give my hero a fantasy happy ending he was cruelly denied in real life. Fellow participants in Weekend Writing Warriors have already read these opening passages over November.

My working tagline: Following a miraculous rescue, a sickly, unlikely boy Tsar defies expectations by surviving into adulthood and becoming the most beloved ruler in Russian history.

FYI: Though accent marks aren’t normally used outside of dictionaries and language textbooks, I personally use them as a courtesy to non-Russians and non-Russophiles who might not know where the stress falls. It’s just the Cyrillic transliteration style I use.

Alexei_Nikolaievich_of_Russia_in_uniform_1911

In a corner of a small cellar room lit only by a dim bulb, and with the windows nailed shut, thirteen-year-old Alekséy sat trembling in an armchair as bullets ricocheted off the brick wall.  A silent scream formed in his throat, but he was too paralyzed by fear to utter it.  His ashen face was already splattered with his father’s blood, and there was only so long the hemophiliac heir could be protected by the jewels sewn into his shirt.  The specter of Death had hovered over him his whole life, but now it finally seemed as though he’d run out of miracles for this lifetime.

The cacophony of shooting was suddenly broken by strange voices coming down the stairs, and the firing squad turned to face these surprise intruders.  Though it was hard to see through the thick haze of gunsmoke, Alekséy could see the late-night callers were clad in military uniforms.  If they were from the Red Army, his life would soon be over, but if they were from the White Army, he, his sisters, and their servants could be rescued tonight and finally taken home.

The assassins, too stunned by this unexpected development, didn’t move to turn their weapons on the soldiers.  After the smoky haze cleared, the soldiers could make out the freshly-dead bodies of the Tsar and Tsarítsa.

“Who’s the regicide?” one of the soldiers asked, slowly moving the scope of his rifle onto each of the executioners in turn. “If you don’t identify the guilty party, we’ll shoot all of you.”

Everyone pointed to the menacing-looking, moustachioed ringleader, who was suddenly speechless.  He didn’t even move to aim his Nagan revolver at the soldiers.

“Let’s go.  Soon you’ll wish you’d never been born.  I’m sure the authorities will love to execute you without a trial, for a taste of your own medicine.  The rest of you, you’re coming with us too, unless you want trouble.  There’s going to be even more trouble if you turn your guns back on these unarmed, innocent people.”

“They’re not innocent,” a very thin executioner insisted, keeping a firm hold on his weapon. “They exploited the masses for centuries.”

“You’re all murderers,” a redheaded soldier said. “But this isn’t the time or place for a political debate.  You’ll have ample time for that while you’re awaiting sentencing.”

The executioners were hustled up the stairs and out of Ipatyev House, into the dark night, while several of the soldiers remained behind to assess the extent of the damage from the first deadly volley and another soldier was sent in search of a doctor.  After endless minutes, two physicians descended the stairs and were directed to the wounded, who included Alekséy’s nineteen-year-old sister Maríya.  One of the doctors cleaned the blood off Alekséy’s face, mercifully shielding him from the view of his father’s lifeless, bloody body slumped in front of the armchair.  Finally, the dead and wounded were borne out, the air still punctuated by screams and sobs.

“You’re safe now, Your Majesty,” one of the soldiers told Alekséy. “You can go back to sleep, and as soon as possible, you’ll be taken home.  This house will be under our armed guards, and anyone who tries to break in will be shot on the spot.”

“I can’t walk, Officer.” His voice trembled in time with his frail body.

17 comments on “WIPpet Wednesday—Rescued in the nick of time

  1. ReGi McClain says:

    Oh, this is an interesting take. I’ve only heard the Anastasia versions of the story, not the Aleksey possibility. Nifty!

    Like

    • Carrie-Anne says:

      Thanks! I think a lot of people never considered this what-if possibility because they assume he would’ve died young anyway, or been too sick to rule in his own right, instead of seeing all that great potential and the chance he would’ve lived into adulthood with certain precautions.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Alana Terry says:

    I love studying this period of history! Just watched a whole documentary with the boys and thought, “Someone needs to do a good historical fiction on this!” Very excited to read more.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. shanjeniah says:

    Every mother fiber in me wants to climb through the laptop screen and almost a century of time, and hug that boy – gently.

    I’m guessing that the next phase of life might sometimes make Aleksey wish he hadn’t survived. I’m glad you give him the chance to move beyond this tragedy, and become something more than perhaps anyone expected he could be, while he lived.

    Children should never be pawns in adult games,,,but, too often, they are.

    Like

  4. Pax Asteriae says:

    Eeek, now that’s an opening and a half! I love historical fiction so I’m very much looking forward to reading more. 🙂

    Like

  5. Amy says:

    Welcome! This is a really interesting take. I’m only vaguely familiar with the story, having learned it in school. But I also wrote a story about a person with hemophilia (the other kind, Type A), and my husband’s brother had it. I’m interested to see where you go with this!

    Like

    • Carrie-Anne says:

      Thanks! I’ve had two other hemophiliac characters for a long time, a brother and sister born in 1958 and 1960, whom I created in 1995, so I’ve got a lot of practice in writing about it.

      Like

  6. kathils says:

    Welcome to the WIPpeteers! Always love to read new bits, and this definitely sounds interesting. Looking forward to seeing more.

    Like

  7. Eden says:

    A powerful opening… and the end of the snippet where we are reminded of just how hard Aleksey’s next few years will be for him. Problems that don’t even hint at the chaos that will be taking over the world in the next twenty years… but he’s already a stronger person than many probably gave him credit for.

    I don’t use the idea now, but originally when I first came up with the character of Atyriia Alantarii I had her as a hemophiliac partly because of the way I’d ‘visualized’ her in my mind and partly because of the Romanov story and a romantic obsession I had with All Things Russian and turn of the century at the time

    Like

    • Carrie-Anne says:

      He was definitely a strong young man, with so many qualities he would’ve needed as a Tsar, like compassion, intelligence, and sensitivity. I’ve seen some contemporaries quoted as saying he would’ve made a better Tsar than his father for those reasons, as well as the fact that he was getting appropriate experience from a young age.

      I have two hemophiliac characters in my Atlantic City books, Philip Green II (born 1958) and his sister Malvina (born 1960). Five of Philip’s six daughters, automatic carriers, will dodge the bullet and either only have daughters or have healthy sons, but his firstborn Karyn is going to have three hemophiliac sons.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. As soon as I read your tagline I squeed a little. And then I read your excerpt with little details like the jewels and squeed more! I ADORE researched historical fiction, alternate-history or not. And I have researched Romanov related stuff for years off and on, because there IS so much story potential. I also love the culture. So basically, I loved this (can you tell? I’m not sure, maybe I was too subtle…). You get extra special bonus points for focusing on Aleksey. I love Anastasia stuff, but she’s gotten a lot of attention, so it’s nice to see Alexei get some focus, too. Especially with his unique difficulties and experiences. I can’t wait to see what you do with him! BIG WELCOME!

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

