WeWriWa—Joyless Christmas

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors, a weekly Sunday hop where writers share 8 sentences from a book or WIP. This week’s snippet comes right after last week’s, as Grand Duke Mikhail has finally prevailed upon 14-year-old Aleksey to open a few Christmas presents early in the hopes it might lift his melancholic state. However, he’s still not in a happy mood as he opens the present as slowly as possible.

This has been slightly tweaked to fit into eight lines.

Alyosha and kittens

“Are you just trying to prolong your anticipation, or really not interested in opening presents?”

“Oh, I’m really glad you got me presents.  I don’t want you to think I’m being ungrateful or mean just because I’m not really interested in presents right now.  Maybe someday I’ll be really happy again, and I won’t have to feel like the unluckiest boy who ever lived on one of the happiest days of the year.”

“Of course you’ll be happy again.  And I bet you’ll be even happier when we’ve got more family celebrations to go to in the coming years.  God may have taken your parents away, but he’s given us some wonderful new members of our family in return.  We have so many more weddings and baptisms to look forward to, and someday we’ll even be celebrating your wedding.”

8 comments on “WeWriWa—Joyless Christmas

  1. Poor little one! My heart still aches for him. I hope he finds joy in the coming snippets. ❤

    Like

  2. Come on, Aleksey! I’ll bet he’ll be happier once he sees what the present is. I’m sure it’s something good. 🎁

    Like

  3. This story is almost as sad as the truth. I feel so sorry for the child.

    Like

  4. The photo with the kittens was heart rending, poor little guy. As for the excerpt, I can tell the Duke is trying so hard to cheer Aleksey up, which is wonderful, but nothing’s going to replace his parents. Wow, this story is told so well, really enjoying the snippets.

    Like

  5. Sarah W says:

    I almost want to go into the story to tell him how much worse it really was! Maybe kittens would help?

    You’ve really hooked me with this one, Carrie Anne! 🙂

    Like

  6. Alexis Duran says:

    I’m anxious to read further into the story, where happy things do happen for Aleksey. You’ve really got me hooked on this alternative history.

    Like

  7. Ed Hoornaert says:

    “God may have taken your parents away…” God, or the Bolsheviks?

    Like

  8. It’s hard to read this, knowing the true history. It makes me wish so much there was a different path the Romanovs had traveled. Another wonderful eight, Carrie-Anne. 🙂

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

