What’s Up Wednesday

AlienStars

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly hop/meme with four simple headings. Anyone can write a post and add the link to Jaime’s blog or Erin’s blog.

What I’m Reading

Because I’m willing to learn from my mistakes and admit when I’ve been wrong, I checked out Greg King and Penny Wilson’s The Resurrection of the Romanovs: Anastasia, Anna Anderson, and the World’s Greatest Royal Mystery. It’s really helpful to me that the authors firmly believed, just as I did, that Anna Anderson was Grand Duchess Anastasiya, and that when they finally started to admit she might’ve been an impostor, they still felt there was no way she could’ve been some Polish peasant. I want to understand, just as they did, how this woman could’ve thoroughly convinced so many people of her story for so many decades, even after DNA tests seemed to indicate the opposite.

However, I’m not a fan of their chosen transliteration style, nor how they “translate” so many proper names! I can handle a different transliteration style if it’s consistent, but don’t refer to Russian-born people with decidedly Anglo names like Serge, Andrew, Paul, and Marie!

What I’m Writing

I went through And the Lark Arose from Sullen Earth, mostly just copyediting, and did one full revision/editing job on The Very First. Once I got started on TVF, I became much more confident, and the further I got into it, the more I knew exactly what I needed to do. Since I’ve chosen that as my Camp NaNo project, I’m saving further edits and revisions for April, and I can’t wait. I left a number of sections and scenes to get back to, and have all these ideas of how to fix them.

The issue with this particular book is that it’s composed of material from so many different stages of my development as a writer, and I still left in too many bits and pieces of the first two drafts during my radical rewrite and restructuring of a few years ago. I wasn’t emotionally ready to junk some pointless, stupid, cluttery scenes and dialogues then, but now it feels so liberating to highlight and delete. I have copies of the older versions, so it’s not like that material is gone forever.

My goal for this week is to finish going through The Twelfth Time, mostly copyediting at this point. I won’t be doing WUW posts in April, because of A to Z, but I’ll be working hard on getting TVF into the best shape it’s ever been in. And after an 891K epic, it’s a relief to work on something that’s under 58,000 words!

What Works for Me

Be consistent with your spellings, conventions, phrasings, etc.! For example, don’t start off using European-style dates, then switch to U.S.-style, and finally go back to European-style for the rest of the book. Don’t alternate between “gray” and “grey.” Use the same transliteration style if your characters’ names are from another alphabet. For example, you wouldn’t call one character Katya and another Tatiana, or one character Kseniya and another Maxim. The only exception would be if the book contains letters, journal entries, etc., in which case these characters might, e.g., use European-style dates while you use U.S.-style dates in the rest of the narrative.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

I went to Classy Body Art on Thursday to get my third lobes done. I had such a nice experience there during my recent nostril emergency, and they’ve gotten so many great reviews. Plus, they’re the only local piercing studio which belongs to the Association of Professional Piercers. I wanted to get my third lobes done as a reward for finally finishing Journey Through a Dark Forest. Having a proper ear piercing, with a needle instead of a gun, makes all the difference in the world. My second lobe piercing was so traumatic, with damage lasting for years. The only thing that finally healed it was slight stretching, which removed the damaged tissue. After I lost interest in my minor stretching project, healthy new tissue grew back.

I discovered my right ear is smaller than the left, but there’s room for a fourth lobe piercing on at least the left ear. There may be just enough room on the right ear, but if not, I don’t mind going into the helix or even the conch. I’ve been wanting a conch piercing for 12 years, as well as a tragus piercing.

4 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

Share your thoughts respectfully

