WeWriWa— “No secrets between us”

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors, a weekly Sunday hop where writers share 8 sentences from a book or WIP. This week’s snippet, creatively edited to fit into 8 lines, comes right after last week’s. The shy, humble Prince Konstantin has assured Grand Duchess Olga he doesn’t care about the very real chance their potential marriage might produce hemophiliac sons. People didn’t know everything about genetic inheritance in 1918, but they were smart enough to figure out hemophilia is only passed along by women.

Olga has praised his beautiful, sincere heart and spirit, and lamented how nothing was done about her marriage prospects after the failed 1914 meeting with Prince Carol of Romania. Kostya then feels obliged to tell her, in the interest of honesty, that he also had a crush on another woman.

Konstantin_Konstantinovich_of_Russia

“I also had another woman in mind I was interested in marrying, if we’re both being honest.  There should be no secrets between us.  I was so sad and frightened when my request to meet Princess Elisabeta of Romania was denied on political grounds after the war started, and I thought I’d never have a chance to meet her.  But now I’m glad I was denied the chance to meet her and fall in love with her, since she obviously wasn’t the woman God meant for me if our meeting wasn’t approved.” Konstantín blushed and looked at the floor. “Please don’t take this the wrong way, Your Highness; I’m not trying to say you’re definitely the woman God really intended for me after just this brief meeting.  I’m very interested in the possibility, but if you’re not equally interested in marriage, I’d never force your hand.  You have free agency.”

Princess Elisabeta of Romania, Kostya’s other unrequited love

12 comments on “WeWriWa— “No secrets between us”

  1. Sarah W says:

    Awkwardly said, but heartfelt, I think. I hope she doesn’t mind his honesty, as it was mean as a compliment, of sorts. 😀

    Like

  2. Aw, he’s so sweet and awkward. I think she’ll appreciate the honesty- I would!

    Like

  3. Jenna Jaxon says:

    I too think his honesty, while a bit awkward, is refreshing. He’s smart enough to know that honesty is the best policy. Especially when he admits he doesn’t know if she’s the one for him or not. Nice 8.

    Like

  4. I think you’ve captured the moment so well, with his forthrightness–especially following hers. What an interesting snippet, Carrie-Anne. I’m not sure what’s alternate history and what’s actually pulled from history (my shortcoming) but it all certainly intrigues. This is an era I know little of. 🙂

    Like

  5. caitlinstern says:

    Honesty is a good idea, in a marriage so fraught with politics. If you can’t trust your spouse, after all…

    Like

  6. I like his honesty and his less than smooth explanation, which makes the conversation sound even more real. So sad these people didn’t get the chance to live out their lives…another poignant excerpt. Well done!

    Like

  7. Jaiellem says:

    Good excerpt. Lots of implication. And you’ve added true love is possible from an earthly and Godly plane. I enjoyed this.

    Like

  8. elainecsc2013 says:

    He’s a little awkward, but who wouldn’t be? I like his honesty. It makes him seem like a decent man worthy of the Grand Dutchess.

    Like

  9. Kate Warren says:

    Aw, what a sweetheart he is!

    Like

  10. Alexis Duran says:

    He sounds very genuine and warm-hearted. You’re doing a great job of bringing these characters to life.

    Like

  11. Karen Michelle Nutt says:

    So sweet. Loved the snippet!

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

