WeWriWa—A beautiful, sincere heart

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors, a weekly Sunday hop where writers share 8 sentences from a book or WIP. I’m skipping a little ahead from last week’s, past Grand Duke Mikhail thanking Prince Vladimir for his show of support against a disrespectful servant and addressing the elephant in the room of hemophilia. Even in 1918, people understood it was passed on through the mother, which means all four of the Grand Duchesses might’ve inherited it and thus have a very real chance of having hemophiliac sons themselves.

Mikhail says he won’t hold anything against the princes if they find this prospect too frightening and take their leave, but Konstantin insists he doesn’t care about that.

479px-Игорь_и_Константин_Константиновичи_Романовы

Prince Konstantin, right, and his younger brother Prince Igor

***

“I’m so old, and want my own family so badly, I don’t care if I might have some children who aren’t all perfect.  Whatever God wants to give me, I’ll want and love just as he is.  Life is so fragile and can so easily be taken away at any time.  Even a healthy, normal child can pass away at any time.  The most important thing is that I give any children of mine all the love I know how to give.”

“You have a beautiful, sincere heart and spirit,” Ólga said, smiling at him. “My family went to Romania four years ago to investigate the possibility of my marrying Prince Carol, but neither of us liked one another.  Then nothing serious was done about my marriage prospects ever again, though I really wanted to be married.”

Olga_Nikolayevna,_1913

Of the four Grand Duchesses, I always felt drawn most to Olga, the oldest. She was the most intelligent and intellectual, an inveterate bookworm, and gave a lot of her inheritance to the less fortunate after she came into her trust fund. Olga is also one of my favorite Russian female names, in spite of how a lot of English-speakers deride it as ugly and musty. It sounds really beautiful with the Russian pronunciation, which has a rolled L.

15 thoughts on “WeWriWa—A beautiful, sincere heart

  1. I’d always wondered if that possibility of carrying hemophilia played a part in the Grand Duchesses not marrying. Konstantin is completely lovely- she should marry him right now!

    Olga was always my favorite of the GD’s, too.

    Like

    • There was definitely some fear among Europe’s other royal houses, due to the very real possibility the Grand Duchesses might bring hemophilia along to other nations and thrones. That was one of the reasons given by Queen Marie of Romania for not approving of a potential marriage between Grand Duchess Olga and Prince Carol, though they turned out not to like one another anyway.

      Liked by 1 person

    • It’s hard to describe, but the rolled Russian L is formed by sort of rolling the tongue back in the mouth. The pronunciation has to do with the fact that in Russian, there’s a soft sign after the L in Olga. The hard and soft signs aren’t pronounced, but they affect how a word or name is pronounced.

      Like

  2. I just love your snippets. You bring the characters alive. I know I’ve said it over and over, but do love the photos! 🙂

    Like

  3. Beautiful sentiment on children from the prince. The photographs are so wonderful, athough they make me a bit sad, knowing the fate of the people in them. I can see why you like Olga so much!

    Like

  4. I think its amazing how they arranged marriages in those days. In some parts of the world, they still do. Imagine going to the alter without a clue who you are marrying. Love your pictures. Olga is beautiful.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

