Top Ten Tuesday—Top Ten Book-Related Problems I Have

Top 10 Tuesday

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly feature of The Broke and the Bookish. A full list of instructions and future themes can be found here. This week’s topic is Top Ten Book-Related Problems I Have.

1. I’ll never have enough bookmarks!

2. Not enough time to finish or get to all those enticing library books, even with maximum renewals. It doesn’t help matters that one of the local libraries, which I prefer out of all the local libraries due to its awesome upper level with peaceful carrels, only loans for three weeks at one time, not four like the other libraries.

3. Not everything I want to read has been translated. I recently read an interview with Ignat Solzhenitsyn (who rather resembles his famous father apart from not being a redhead), in which he said there aren’t any immediate plans to translate the rest of his father’s books into English. This includes the second half of his massive Red Wheel saga, March 1917 and April 1917. There’s not enough of an audience anymore, as evidenced by the lacklustre sales of November 1916 and the unexpurgated The First Circle.

4. Forgetting about library books till I have no more renewals.

5. Those times I forget about due dates and end up having to return them late and pay a small fine.

6. None of the local libraries having a book I really want to read.

7. Out of print books only being available for unrealistically high prices.

8. Not having enough time to read all of a book I checked out for historical research. I’ve gotten out so many library books to research things for my writing, like D-Day, the Pacific Theatre in WWII, Americans in concentration-camps, polio, and fashions of the various decades of the 20th century, only to not have time to read everything. They looked so tempting, but I only read or skimmed the relevant parts and put off reading the whole book for later.

9. All the long-unread books on my shelves.

10. Not having an entire huge room for a library. Should I ever have a mansion, I’m so going to have a real library, with floor-to-ceiling bookshelves of the finest wood, luxurious carpets, comfy chairs, tables, artwork on the walls, a fireplace, and even one of those trick shelves that reveals a secret room or at least another side with even more books. My character Kit Green’s father has just such a trick shelf in his library, to hide all his Jewish books and other evidence of his birth identity as Filip Alekseyevich Greenblatt, until his middle daughter Lovella discovers the family secret and he has to hide the books elsewhere.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday—Top Ten Book-Related Problems I Have

  1. These sound kind of funny but I can see the serious side as well. I never go to the library anymore because I’ve got too many books at home that I’ve yet to read and I have no particular research or reading agenda otherwise.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. So many of these are exactly how I feel!:) I mean, it’s so frustrating when you want a book so badly but it’s not in a library or bookstore nearby:( That has happened to me with Vicious (which I finally got a copy of) and All The Light We Cannot See (I just found it and I’m pretty sure there were tears of joy in my eyes;))- so there’s always hope that after waiting they’ll appear:)
    I always forget about library deadlines! It just feels like my library books are part of my book piles and I forget they’re not mine to keep:(
    I need a library room!- I think I’m going to dream about it tonight;)
    Great post!

    Like

  3. I have a ton of bookmarks, but I don’t want to use them because they are so pretty and my bookmarks always end up falling apart because of overuse (is there such a thing?). Sometimes I feel overwhelmed when I go to the library to pick up my holds. They all seem to come at once.

    Like

  4. Yessss to #10! My G’pa is actually a millionaire & in the house he lived in while I was growing up, he had such a library in his house. I miss hanging out in there with my cousins and my books!

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

