WeWriWa—Prince Konstantin

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors, a weekly Sunday hop where writers share 8 sentences from a book or WIP. I’m skipping ahead a few chapters in my alternative history, past the public execution of the Imperial Family’s assassins, the return to St. Petersburg, Aleksey’s horrified discovery of his uncle Mikhail’s intensification of the anti-Semitic May Laws, newspaper stories about the antics of the jailed Bolshevik leaders, the funeral for the Tsar and Tsaritsa, and the arrival of a new team of doctors to help Aleksey with improving his health and surviving into adulthood.

Grand Duke Mikhail, the Regent, really has his nephew and nieces’ best interests at heart, even if he initially uses some tough love as he establishes himself as their guardian. Now that he’s asserted his authority by declaring martial law, having all the Bolsheviks arrested, and intensifying his father’s May Laws in overreaction to the origins of some of the leading Bolsheviks, he’s taking care of marrying off his nieces.

Prince_Konstantin_Konstantinovich

Prince Konstantin Konstantinovich Romanov (the younger), 1 January 1891–18 July 1918

“God has been so good to me,” Konstantín said in a soft voice. “For so many years, I’ve been longing for my own family.  My older brother Ioann is so happily married, with two lovely children, and my older sister Tatyana was also happily married and has two nice children.  I wanted the same happiness for myself, but fate kept intervening and keeping me single.  When the Bolsheviks arrested me and my family, I thought the end really had come for me, and I’d die without knowing such a beautiful joy so many other people take for granted.  But then we were rescued and our guards were the ones executed in our place, and I began to feel, maybe this is a beautiful second chance from God to have the family I’ve been so longing for.  And truth be told, I’ve long had a crush on Ólga.” He looked at the floor and blushed slightly as he said this last line.

***

Prince Konstantin, known as Kostya, was a great hero of World War One. He served in the Izmaylovskiy Regiment with distinction, and was very popular among his fellow servicemen. Sadly, this sweet, shy prince never found the marriage he wanted so badly, and was murdered at the age of 27. He was murdered with his brothers Ioann and Igor, as well as several other relatives.

16 comments on “WeWriWa—Prince Konstantin

  1. Arlee Bird says:

    The prince is a debonair looking fellow! A sad way for him to go at such a young age.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. Oh yes! Olga + Konstantin = 💘 I love how you’re story resurrects these people and gives them at least the possibility of a happy and longer life.

    Like

  3. He died so young. The revolution really aimed at snuffing out the life of any royal, didn’t it? So sad… I admit to never have before paid attention to Russian history. You bring it to life, Carrie-Anne.

    Like

  4. wow, so young! this was so fascinating!

    Like

  5. ralfast says:

    Aren’t his actions simply fueling the next rebellion?

    Like

    • Carrie-Anne says:

      Russia has historically done best under a strong hand and decisive leader, which is one of the reasons it’s been so hard for real democracy to take root. It’s just not a system of government best-suited to the unique needs and features of such a large, diverse empire. However, in this story, Russia will later successfully become a constitutional monarchy, with the right combination of firmness and kindness.

      Like

  6. Sarah W says:

    So this is a do-over for everyone? Excellent!

    Like

  7. I’m with Sarah W, I love that you’re rewriting the tragedy of so many who were killed so young. I’m fascinated by this in-depth look at history I didn’t know much about, beyond the death of the Tsar. Another excellent excerpt!

    Like

  8. Karen Michelle Nutt says:

    He had a thing for Olga, does he? Sweet snippet.

    I’m enjoying your alternate reality, but also I’m fascinated with learning more about what really happened to these people. So heart-wrenching.

    Like

  9. caitlinstern says:

    What a lovely second chance for him. I hope Olga feels the same way!

    Like

  10. From what I’ve read, Olga was a kind and generous young woman who gave her own money and time to those in need. It makes sense that the prince would fall for her.

    Like

  11. Alexis Duran says:

    Such sweet sentiments from a very tough guy. You’re really bringing these people to life for the reader.

    Like

  12. ED Martin says:

    It’s good to see him having a chance at happiness this time around. I’m a bit of a Russophile myself, so I’m really enjoying your story.

    Like

  13. Jenna Jaxon says:

    I hope in your story he gets his happy marriage with Princess Olga. I love this alternate history.

    Like

  14. Kate Warren says:

    Love is in the air! I do hope the plan is for him to marry Olga, otherwise he has some adjusting to do. The word “crush” seems so modern. Was it in use back then and in Russia for romantic feelings, or admiration?

    Like

    • Carrie-Anne says:

      The word “crush” to refer to the object of one’s affections was coined in 1884, and the term “to have a crush on” dates to 1913. The Russian verb for “to have a crush on,” uvlekatsya, can mean to develop an enthusiasm for, to become engrossed in, to be wrapped up in, and to become infatuated with. Uvlecheniye, the word for “crush,” can also translate as enthusiasm, passion, and fascination.

      Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

