WeWriWa— “You’re safe now, Your Majesty”

I guest-blogged at Unicorn Bell on Friday!

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors, a weekly Sunday hop where writers share 8 sentences from a book or WIP. For the last few weeks, I’ve been sharing from my old/new WIP, an alternative history called And Aleksey Lived. It begins in the early morning hours of 17 July 1918, when the Russian Imperial Family’s murder is stopped just in time to save the 13-year-old heir to the throne and his four sisters.

The dead and wounded have been taken out of the cellar, though the physically unharmed survivors are still extremely rattled. Not only that, but 13-year-old Aleksey is forced to confess that he can’t walk. He slipped and fell while getting into bed his first night in Yekaterinburg, and reinjured his barely-healed knee. Though he’d begun to heal slightly by July, he couldn’t walk for the last 78 days of his life. All he needed was a little more time to rest, coupled with better living conditions, and he would’ve recovered completely.

This has been tweaked slightly to fit 8 lines.

***

“You’re safe now, Your Majesty,” one of the soldiers told Alekséy. “You can go back to sleep, and as soon as possible, you’ll be taken home.  This house will be under our armed guards, and anyone who tries to break in will be shot on the spot.”

“I can’t walk, Officer,” he said, as his voice trembled in time with his frail body.

“What do you mean, you can’t walk?  How did you get down the stairs if you’re crippled?  Do you mean you’re still too rattled to move?  Someone can bring you some tea and soothing food, and I’m sure you’ll feel steadier in no time.”

Алексей_Романов

As of midnight on the final night of NaNo, I had 74,971 words, after having declared my win on Day 23. I had a lot of my energy zapped by some two-week bug, and probably would’ve written at least 80,000 words if not for that. The book is far from finished (my guesstimate is around 150,000–200,000 words), and I deliberately wrote out of order, left unfinished chapters and gaps to get back to, and went back and forth between all four Parts plus the Epilogue, but at least I got a big chunk out of the way.

14 comments on “WeWriWa— “You’re safe now, Your Majesty”

  1. Amazing word count. I feel bad for this character/real life person.

    Like

  2. OMG your word count is amazing! That’s a lot of words for one month. In awe!

    Like

  3. Sarah W says:

    I keep saying this, but oh, that poor boy!

    At least now he may be able to heal . . . are you planning on having him recover more fully from his hemophilia, as he gets older?

    Like

    • Carrie-Anne says:

      He’s going to have to curtail the typical “boy” activities he loves so much in order to live as long as possible, and retreat into a quieter, more interior life of the mind. Since there was more time between his attacks by this point in his life anyway, barring the two injuries in captivity (when he wasn’t under normal circumstances), he’ll become somewhat physically stronger and less prone to injuries.

      Like

  4. caitlinstern says:

    Oh, that’s terrible. I hope he manages to convince them he isn’t just ‘rattled.’

    Congrats on that impressive word count!

    Like

  5. Poor Aleksey, I bet it was hard for him to admit he couldn’t walk just right now. Glad you’re over the two week bug, happy to hear the words were flowing for you. Excellent excerpt!

    Like

  6. He was a handsome boy. I wish history had been different.

    Like

  7. Remarkable story. My best wishes to you. Be well and fully recovered for this holiday season.

    Like

  8. burnsmillie says:

    Crazy word count my girl! Hope he gets a lift to where he needs to go. I’m sure the soldier would be honored to carry his majesty : )

    Like

  9. Alexis Duran says:

    Congrats on kicking NaNo butt this year! I washed out early, but at least I got 20K new words down. The snippet is very well done. After all he’s been through and now this. I’m glad you’re rewriting his story.

    Like

  10. Frank Fisher says:

    I’m wondering how he got down the stairs too, if he couldn’t walk. I personally think it is out of shock. Either way, this snippet left me interested and curious. Nice job!

    Like

  11. This line: “…his voice trembled in time with his frail body.” pulled me right in. I want to hug the poor kid. Good job of drawing in the reader!

    Like

  12. ED Martin says:

    I like your version of history better. I’m glad the soldier is helping him, and I hope he’s able to heal!

    Like

  13. I’m curious to know how he walked downstairs. And wow, your word count is wonderful. 🙂

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

