WeWriWa—A stubborn suitor

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors, a weekly Sunday hop where writers share 8 sentences from a book or WIP.  I’m now sharing from the opening of my first Russian historical, You Cannot Kill a Swan: The Love Story of Lyuba and Ivan (available for sale here). So I don’t give too much away, and since I’m eager to start sharing from my old/new WIP, I’m going to end my snippets here.

After gymnasium (i.e., high school) lets out, Ivan always goes over to his best friend and neighbor Lyuba’s house, along with their other best friend Boris (eventually to be their ex-best friend). This afternoon is particularly hard for Ivan, since he’s expected to pretend everything is normal and Lyuba didn’t just jilt him. When Lyuba’s mother and aunt come home, they discover gluttony, uncouth, clumsy Boris has broken a bowl. Lyuba’s mother demands money to pay for a new bowl, and Boris is only too happy to fork over the requested sum.

***

“Unlike Kónev, at least I have a ready supply of money.”

“Yes, money is a very important asset in a husband,” Mrs. Zhúkova nods, fixing Iván with a meaningful look. “My daughter needs a husband who can provide for her and any future children, not someone full of idealistic, romantic promises about sailing to America, farms in the Midwest, and love being the only thing a couple needs to get through tough times.”

Iván stalks over to his house next door, cursing himself for being such a passive excuse of a man he just rolled over and took no for an answer when he put his heart on the line and proposed.  Well, if Lyuba thinks he’s going to give up on her this easily, she’s got another think coming.  He’s the only left-handed student in the entire gymnasium because he always withstood the efforts of his teachers, ever since first grade, to try to make him write right-handed, even when they hit him on the hand with rulers and straps, thumped him on the head with heavy books, and threatened to beat him.  He believes God made him left-handed for a reason, the same way he believes he and Lyuba were destined to be husband and wife.  And if he could stay true to his left-handedness under such intense attempts to switch him, then he can be just as committed to staying the course until Lyuba gives into her heart.

***

For anyone wondering, Mrs. Zhukova is tagged as Mrs. Lebedeva in my metadata since that’s the name she appeared under when I shared excerpts with her during the old Sweet Saturday Samples hop. She’s been a Lebedeva far longer than she’s been a Zhukova.

Next week I’ll start sharing from my alternative history, which opens in 1918. It’s my way of giving a well-deserved happy ending and long life to a beautiful young man who was denied both of those things in real life.

7 comments on “WeWriWa—A stubborn suitor

  1. I love how you used the traditional methods of dealing with a left handed pupil to show exactly how stubborn he is. Very clever.

    Like

  2. Being left handed myself, I totally approve his determination! Enjoying the story, I really like this character. Great excerpt!

    Like

  3. I really hope that Iván’s perseverance pays off. You did a good job of writing Boris as easy to dislike. lol. 🙂

    Like

  4. I love this so far! Great job.

    Like

  5. Sarah W says:

    My mother had that treatment in school—she never received good grades for her handwriting, because she always switched hands when the teachers weren’t looking! 😀

    Like

  6. I can’t believe lefties were treated that way. 😦

    Great excerpt.

    Like

  7. caitlinstern says:

    Hang tough, lefty! You can do it!

    Poor lefties. They still have it rough, now. School might not beat it out of them, but the die at a higher rate from accidents with right-handed tools and machinery.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

