What’s Up Wednesday

WUWWreath2

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly hop/meme with four simple headings. Anyone can write a post and add the link to Jaime’s blog or Erin’s blog.

What I’m Reading

Still reading Charles Pellegrino’s The Last Train from Hiroshima. It really is amazing how survival worked out, how some people right in the hypocentre walked away without a scratch (though sometimes still got radiation poisoning), based just on where they were in a building. There were a number of shock cocoons where the pika (flash) bounced off or went around, like stairwells. Others were shielded from the pika by a wall or window covered in white paper. It’s such a macabre blessing how some survivors experienced vision correction and remission of cancer and tuberculosis, because of their exposure to those deadly atoms.

What I’m Writing

Still in the thick of edits and revisions for my first Russian historical, with ideas for how to fix some of the remaining trouble spots in the earliest chapters during the coming next round. Thankfully, I’m finally over that long middle hump in Part I, and am now well into Part II. It’a amazing how much crap I found to cut out, particularly pointless, cluttery chat; rambling, oversharing dialogue; and meaningless short scenes.

It may very well be that, in spite of all the hard work I’ve done with editing, revising, and rewriting over the last three years (plus all the times I went back and tinkered with the older material while I was writing the book), there may always be a few places which read awkwardly or a bit on the juvenile side. It’s not that these places are examples of bad writing so much as they’re examples of someone still developing as a writer. It’s the same reason Birth of a Nation is technically a great film, with cutting-edge film techniques and a gripping dramatic storyline. It doesn’t change or elevate the stomach-churning racism infiltrating every last nook and cranny.

I really think I’ll put a note in the beginning, explaining that I wrote the first draft between ages 13-21, and thus to consider the source of any remnants of that less developed writing style. The majority of this book was written when I was a mere teenager, with Part II written in my very early twenties. The new material and significant rewrites of my adult years will never outnumber the material produced in my youth.

What Works for Me

Writing and editing dialogue is a skill I’ve had to come by the hard way. In particular, I often cringe when editing the dialogue in my older books. Not only was I still developing as a writer, but I’m also an Aspie. These people don’t speak like normal people would, but that’s because I genuinely didn’t know any better. That was how I really thought, the way I might write a journal entry or a letter at that age. I also didn’t get out much with other people. Always consider if your characters are speaking like normal people, or if that’s more how someone might express oneself in writing. Avoid meaningless cluttery chat which just fills up space, rehashes established information or backstory, or which is guilty of rambling, awkward oversharing.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

I made some awesome vegan macaroni and cheese, after the whole brouhaha with insane food snobs gnashing their teeth about Annie’s Homegrown joining General Mills. It made me realise I haven’t had macaroni and cheese in some time. I used this recipe, using coconut milk and Smart Balance flaxseed butter, leaving out the garlic powder. (Warning: Source website is heavily into food woo and propagates ridiculous anti-GMO propaganda.)

IMG_2400

Seriously, the butthurt food snobs ranting and raving about Annie’s moving to a corporation which uses GMOs are perfect examples of whiny, overprivileged First Worlders. They actually went onto Annie’s Facebook wall and posted pictures of their Annie’s products on fire, or posted about how they’re throwing away or burning the food. God forbid you give that good food to a food bank, mission, battered women’s shelter, any place where people would be so thankful for any food offered. When you don’t have much money, you don’t give a damn if food has GMOs (which BTW are safe, contrary to the emotional, unscientific propaganda), gluten (barring legit Celiac or wheat allergies), organic ingredients, etc.

Wasting good food has always been tantamount to sin for me, after growing up without a lot of money and having grandparents who lived through the Great Depression. Absolutely repugnant that some people put ideology before helping the needy.

7 comments on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Mmm…cheese… I love me some cheese, although I’m not the biggest fan of mixing it with macaroni. 😉

    Like

  2. Miss Cole says:

    …Now I really want my Mac and Cheese.

    It’s cool how you can track your own development as a writer through the story. Must be very reassuring to see how far you’ve come ^_^

    Like

  3. Kate Scott says:

    Dialog can be tricky, fortunately, I’m supper talkative, so I’ve actually always found dialog easier than straight prose. I normally try to imagine that I am actually participating in the conversation and try to figure out what I would actually say. You can try reading the dialog out loud too and make sure it sounds natural.

    Like

  4. Erin Funk says:

    I love writing dialogue, but it can definitely be a challenge, especially if your characters are communicating important information about the plot. I think that’s where knowing your characters really helps too. Then the dialogue naturally flows better. Have a good week!

    Like

  5. C.E. Darrell says:

    Oh, god, BIRTH OF A NATION, now *there’s* something I’d rather not think about! It sounds like you’re making great progress on your work, though, despite any weak spots you might think are there. I cringe whenever I look back on the work I did when I was younger, so I envy you not giving up when the cringe factor sets in! Have a wonderful week!

    Like

  6. I’ve had problems with dialogue too. My issues are I am a loner; growing up, I didn’t like a lot of the slang (African-American Vernacular English of Ebonics) around me; and when writing, it’s hard to let go of the idea of having to use proper grammar, especially since we grow up spending so much time learning to write in proper grammar.

    Like

  7. I read a book simply called Hiroshima as a kid. I didn’t know about the people who saw benefits from the radioactivity they were exposed to. So odd! It would be hard to feel happy about it with all the rest of the tragedy.

    I have issues with wasting food, too.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

