WeWriWa—A Friend Is a Friend

In loving memory of my paternal grandpap, who left the material world nine years ago today; Keith Moon, who would’ve been 68 on 23 August; and Rudolph Valentino, whose 88th Jarhzeit (death anniversary) was 23 August.

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors, a weekly Sunday hop where writers share 8 sentences from a book or WIP. I’m now sharing from Chapter 81, “A Friend Is a Friend,” of my WIP, Journey Through a Dark Forest. It’s mid-June 1944, and lifelong best friends Patya Siyanchuk and Rodya Duranichev are serving with the 2nd Division of the 6th Marines at the bloody Battle of Saipan.

On the second day of the battle, Patya awoke to Rodya shouting for help and found him struggling with a Japanese soldier who’d already stabbed his shoulder. Patya has just shot the Japanese in the neck, and now Rodya begins explaining what happened. Some creative editing has been done to make this fit eight sentences.

***

“I’m so sorry,” Ródya stammers. “I heard a suspicious noise and went to investigate, thinking it was finally my chance to prove myself as a brave Marine and have a heroic story to bring home. Instead I was as unmanly as ever and needed you to rescue me.  I got scared and panicked, and let him stab me.”

Pátya wraps him in a bear hug. “It’s okay to be scared, buddy; it doesn’t make you a coward or bad Marine.  I don’t think I would’ve gone to investigate a strange noise all by myself.  You’re lucky it was only one guy.”

6 thoughts on “WeWriWa—A Friend Is a Friend

  1. Very natural dialogue. It shows the dear relationship between the two.
    The only comment I have though is I would change “wraps” to “wrapped” (Pátya wraps him in a bear hug), I think it flows smoother.
    Good 8, it gives a lot of insight into the story.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

