WeWriWa—“School isn’t a fashion show”

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

 

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors, a weekly Sunday hop where writers share 8 sentences from a book or WIP. This is the last week I’ll be sharing from my recent release Little Ragdoll, which is currently available on Kindle, Kobo, and Nook and soon to be in print. I’m skipping a little ahead to close out on a hopeful note.

After the Troy sisters have been reminded that they’re at Woolworth’s to buy school supplies, not to argue with mean girls, they continue with their errand. They don’t have much money to spend, but at least Woolworth’s prices are generally very cheap anyway.

***

“It’s not fair,” Adicia complains as they wander into the next aisle. “All the other girls get new clothes for school. My clothes are twelve years old.”

“Those girls won’t look twice at their new clothes in six months,” Emeline predicts. “They’ll throw them away, or give them to charity if they have any sense, when a newer fashion comes along. They don’t care about getting clothes that last for a long time.”

“School isn’t a fashion show,” Lucine says. “You can wear the most expensive, newest clothes in the world, but it won’t matter if you’re not using your brain.”

***

Next week will be a quick visit to my hiatused 1980s historical Justine Grown Up (starring Adicia’s baby sister), in honor of the special holiday which falls on August tenth. (You’ll also get to see the lovely framed poster I sleep underneath.) The week afterwards, you’ll get to meet my brave Marines from my WIP!

As soon as I finally get a new computer, I’ll be able to do more visits on Sundays. My computer has been slowly dying for months now, and the death rattle coming from the left fan isn’t getting any better, though having a fan right behind the machine helps.

4 comments on “WeWriWa—“School isn’t a fashion show”

  1. As tje oldest, I never wore hand-me-downs, but some of my sisters did. And my mother sewed most of our clothes.

    Like

  2. Oh, that last line… Being the seventh of eight children, and the fourth of five daughters, I heard it when I was a child. Intellectually, a child knows it’s right, yet it does little to stop the sting.

    Good snippet. Bet that it will resonate with a lot of readers. 🙂

    Like

  3. I like Lucine, very level headed. These girls feel so real to me – another excellent excerpt! I want to take them shopping – where’s my time machine?!

    Like

  4. Sarah W says:

    I wish I’d read this before I went school shopping with the kids yesterday! Not that this argument would have worked on them . . . But it might have put a little steel in my spine. 😀

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

