Ready. Set. Write! Week Seven

RSWcloud

Alison MillerKaty UppermanJaime Morrow, and Erin Funk are once again hosting the summerlong Ready. Set. Write! initiative. Each week there will be a few headings, with short responses to allow for more writing time.

  • How I did on last week’s goal(s)

I finished Chapter 82 of my WIP, and true to my guess going in, it turned out as the longest chapter of Part III. So far, it’s also the longest chapter period, coming in just a bit above the length of Chapter 51, “The World of Tomorrow,” which closes Part II. It’s still about two thousand words shorter than my longest-ever chapter, “Union with a Snake,” Chapter 41 of my second Russian historical.

  • My goal(s) for this week

Complete Chapter 83, “Brutal Winter,” which begins with Darya and her friends being evacuated from the Polish farm to a rocket and munitions factory in Germany to avoid the approaching Soviets. The factory is based on the brutal Mittelbau complex, though my fictional factory is run by much more humane overseers who treat their prisoners like human beings. At the factory, they discover Halina and Maja’s brother Teodor and adoptive aunt Zofia, who have some very bad news for Matviyko (Halina, Maja, and Teodor’s father). Then the chapter moves to my five Army characters (four American soldiers, one Canadian Army medic) during the Battle of the Bulge.

  • A favorite line from my story OR a word or phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised

Vladlena rubs the uninked edges of his arm as she takes in the new decoration. On top is the Marines’ symbol of a crested eagle on top of a globe, showing the Western Hemisphere and speared by an anchor. Below is inked, “USMC, Saipan, 16 June 1944.” In the remaining space above the elbow is a heart with Vladlena’s name inside, and in the two inches left below the elbow, in simple block print:

“SEMPER FI.”

  • The biggest challenge I faced this week

The death rattle which has continued coming from my left fan. I can’t use the computer without a fan right behind it, to keep it cool and lessen the noise. It’s long past time to get a new computer.

  • Something I love about my WIP

I love the grand, epic scale, with so many characters, storylines, and settings, but all ultimately linked together. It reminds me a bit of my first Russian historical, and how amazed I was to reread it for the first time in almost a decade and see how perfectly I wove all these seemingly disparate characters and threads together at such a young age. I also love seeing my characters growing up and becoming adults, when I’ve known the younger generation since they were born or were very young in the first and second books.

7 comments on “Ready. Set. Write! Week Seven

  1. Yeah, I think you need a new computer. Or get the fan fixed.
    Making good progress!

    Like

  2. You have earned that new computer. Upgrade as a celebration of your progress, and don’t look back. Have a great week!

    Like

  3. Jaime Morrow says:

    I hope your computer holds out until you’re done your WiP. And then you can reward yourself with an upgrade, like Laurel mentioned above. Talk about great incentive! Hope you have a great week, Carrie-Anne! 😀

    Like

  4. Erin Funk says:

    Nicely done on finishing the latest chapter of your WIP, especially since it’s the longest one yet! Sounds like it might be time to go computer shopping. Hope you can find one you like! Good luck with your goals this coming week!

    Like

  5. How long are your chapters in general? I’m impressed that you’ve finished chapter 82 😀
    Love the extract, by the way!

    Like

    • Carrie-Anne says:

      For one of my serious historicals, a short chapter is in the 4,000/5,000-word range, though in my WIP, I’ve actually had a few chapters which ended up in only the 2,000/3,000-word range. Mid-length is 7,000/8,000 words, and long is 10,000+. For my shorter, more lighthearted historicals, the chapters tend to be much shorter, only around 2,000 or so words each.

      Like

  6. Alison Miller says:

    How cool to watch your characters literally grow up over the course of a series. I loved doing that with Harry Potter and I was just a reader! And I do hope you can get a new computer soon! Such a necessity for we writers these days!

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

