What’s Up Wednesday

AlienStars

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly hop/meme with four simple headings. Anyone can write a post and add the link to Jaime’s blog or Erin’s blog.

What I’m Reading

I read Seymour Chwast’s graphic novel version of The Canterbury Tales, and it was really fun and cute. It did leave a lot out, but the gist of most of the stories was still there.

I also finished my adult revisiting of Sydney Taylor’s More All-of-a-Kind Family. Overall, it was a nice read, but not as good as the first book. There were just too many different things going on in the second book, without much of a central focus point carrying the overall story along. Also, the bits explaining the various holidays were very “As you know, Bob,” and really slowed the story down. I laughed out loud when Papa says, “I’d better get out my Prince Albert.” If you know what kind of piercing a Prince Albert is, you’ll know that line doesn’t exactly translate well in the modern era!

Seriously, how much money does Papa make as a junkman to afford that nice four-room flat in the Lower East Side, nice furniture, a rental house for his family at Rockaway Beach to escape the terrifying polio epidemic of 1916, and later a seven-room Bronx apartment and lots of great new furniture? (I’m sure the vaccine-denialists would insist Sydney Taylor had been paid off by “Big Pharma!” to negatively depict polio. It enrages me to hear them giggling polio off as no big deal, based on their “extensive research” at garbage sites like whale.to, Tenpenny, Mercola, Natural “News,” InfoWars, GreenMedInfo, et al.)

What I’m Writing

Nothing at the moment, but hopefully I can find some time to sneak back to my WIP over the Summer. I don’t want to leave my brave Marines on Tarawa indefinitely!

What Inspires Me

I ultimately enjoyed learning new skills with Nook Publishing, the EPUB format, and Calibre. Once you get over the quick, steep learning curve, it starts becoming a lot easier. I feel very accomplished and in control because I know how to do all my own formatting, and will soon begin learning about PDF formatting, both for Google Books and print copies. I’m so grateful my father spent over $2,000 to get the 152K Mac, years before anyone I knew had a computer. Learning computer skills early is like learning another language or an instrument young—it makes your brain more limber and open to further details.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

I went to the grand opening of Albany’s Whole Foods last Wednesday, and really enjoyed it in spite of how it was a predictable zoo. Look, I’m really not happy they sell pseudoscience like homeopathy (i.e., expensive water and sugar pills), “detoxes” and “cleanses,” probiotics, and other Big Alterna cash cows, along with promoting anti-GMO propaganda. (Every major worldwide scientific organisation has rigourously studied GMOs and found them to be safe.) But that’s not their sole focus, and they do have lots of good food. I’m fairly crunchy, and it makes me feel good to shop at a store focused on more natural, healthy, local food.

I finally used my potato masher I got from the Student Chopper in the fall. My mashed potatoes were made with coconut milk and olive oil. I left the skins on, so they wouldn’t go to waste, and have been eating it with mushroom gravy, tempeh, and chickpeas. Not exactly the mashed potatoes and gravy I grew up eating by my paternal grandparents’ house, but I love it. It’s been years and years since I’ve had gravy, since I’ve not only been vegetarian for over six and a half years, but also gave up beef shortly after I turned seventeen. (I was pescatarian for a bit under two years, then began eating kosher poultry.) It’s nice to have gravy again.

9 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Pingback: Horny Hump Day—Lyuba and Ivan « Welcome to My Magick Theatre

  2. I LOVED All of a Kind Family as a kid. I think I read all of the books. I don’t know how I’d feel about reading them as an adult…I wonder if the magic would be lost. 🙂 And way cool–a graphic novel of Canterbury Tales. I read the text in Old English during a college/university course; so cool.

    Like

  3. I read All of a Kind Family a few years ago for the first time and loved it, but didn’t pursue the series further.
    You’re right about polio being no joke– my mom had it as a child and it was awful!

    Like

  4. WiP… historical fiction… marines… Sounds very interesting! Would like to hear more when you get back into the writing.
    I’m sort of trying to write tales set two hundred years in the future, but with all the style and historical research from two hundred in the past. How do you do the research for your writing?

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

