What’s Up Wednesday

AlienStars

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly hop/meme with four simple headings. Anyone can write a post and add the link to Jaime’s blog or Erin’s blog.

What I’m Reading

Haven’t had much time for reading, since all my focus has been on going over Little Ragdoll one last time, and on finishing my cover.

What I’m Writing

Again, my only focus has been on last-minute polishing of my upcoming release and making the cover. I can’t wait to finally get back to creating something fresh!

What Inspires Me

Local hero Matthew Guidarelli, who rescued a cat from drowning in the Normanskill River. This was such a case of being in exactly the right place at the right time, since Matthew was jogging at the same moment the perp threw the cat into the water. He acted immediately instead of ignoring the cries and the sight of the cat carrier in the water, and was able to hear the cries because he wasn’t listening to music. The POS who tried to murder this beautiful cat put a huge rock in the carrier.

Coverage on local news (including the actual rock and an interview with Matthew)

What Else I’ve Been Up To

I finally finished my cover on Tuesday night! It took about a month of very hard, focused work, a number of trips to the local art store, a lot of time, and a lot of determination. I don’t think I’m going to be making a habit of designing my own covers, but I can certainly see myself doing it again every so often.

I know I’m not a grand master artist, but it just felt right since this was such a personal story for me. And I know my human figures aren’t the most detailed, three-dimensional, or realistic, but I think my simple, cartoon-like figures work more than some glossy cover models or super-intricate drawings. Adicia, her sisters, their brother, and their friends could be anyone from Manhattan’s underclass in the Sixties. By not making them so detailed and life-like, the reader can use his or her own imagination.

After attending Wednesday’s opening of Whole Foods, I’m going across the street to the FedEx store to get it scanned, and then I can add in the title and byline in Journal typeface. (Yes, Whole Foods does sell homeopathy, which is complete bunk, and they promote the anti-scientific propaganda that GMOs are so scary, but that’s not all they’re about.)

IMG_2289

IMG_2291

Materials used:
14 x 17 Co-Mo sketchbook
Derwent Inktense pencils (watercolour pencils)
Caran d’Ache Neocolor II wax pastels (watersoluble)
Portfolio Series oil pastels (watersoluble)
Koh-I-Noor woodless coloured pencils
Koh-I-Noor HB graphite pencil
Prismacolor erasers (kneaded rubber, artgum, and plastic)
Faber-Castell Grip Trio Sharpener
Open stock Prismacolors for flesh tones (including one Prismacolor Col-Erase)
Open stock Prismacolor Verithins for filling in tiny areas

Hopefully by the time I feel moved to doing another cover, I’ll have that beautiful 60-count of Faber-Castell’s polychromos, oil-based coloured pencils that are said to be the best of the best, outside of the super-expensive Caran d’Ache pencils.

And keep in mind that it’s only been three years now since I came out of the closet about the true extent of my left-handedness and switched my primary writing, drawing, and eating hand! I don’t think it’s half-bad for someone who unknowingly used the wrong hand for 31 years and only intermittently used the left hand for drawing and writing.

7 comments on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Chrys Fey says:

    I am horrified that someone would do that to a cat! I am applauding Matthew Guidarelli for jumping into that river and coming to the cat’s rescue.

    Like

  2. That’s terrible someone would do that to an animal! What an awesome person to jump in and save that cat.

    Like

  3. Saving the cat, eh? That’s my favorite writing manual. Cool story.

    Like

  4. Miss Cole says:

    That poor cat! What a sick person to do that to a helpless animal. Some people are just sick. Thank goodness there was a genuinely good human being there to save the cat.

    Hope your final prep goes really well ^_^

    Like

  5. Erin Funk says:

    I can’t even fathom what kind of depraved person would do that to a helpless animal. As a cat lover, I’m relieved to hear the poor thing was rescued. Both a sad and inspiring story.Best of luck on the story polishing!

    Like

  6. Jaime Morrow says:

    Oh, my gosh, that’s just terrible about the cat. I’m so happy some one was there to rescue the poor thing. I’m a total cat person, so this just sickens me. Good luck with all of the polishing!

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

