WeWriWa—Meet Adicia

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors, a weekly Sunday hop where writers share 8 sentences from a book or WIP. I’m now sharing from the new opening pages of Little Ragdoll, a contemporary historical Bildungsroman set from 1959-74. The book opens with 5-year-old Adicia and her 6-month-old baby sister Justine on the fire escape balcony of their eighth floor tenement. Adicia was telling Justine about how they’re going to leave the Lower East Side someday when one of their older sisters came up behind them.

Though the two older brothers are introduced several paragraphs later, I put in the line about the three brothers as a way to let the reader know there are nine Troy children. Tommy, the youngest brother, doesn’t appear till the second chapter, and I felt it were better to introduce his existence from the start instead of by surprise.

This has been slightly modified to fit eight sentences.

***

“Have you forgotten we’re supposed to go to Woolworth’s this afternoon?” thirteen-year-old Lucine asks. “We’ll have to start walking soon to get there in time.”

Adicia pulls herself up, careful not to drop her real-live baby doll, and heads back inside, where eleven-year-old Emeline has her nose buried in a book as always, and seven-year-old Ernestine is having her hair brushed by their surrogate mother Sarah. They all wear clothes handed down from their oldest sister Gemma, with a marked progression from gently-worn on Lucine to worn-out rags on Adicia. Their three brothers have escaped hand-me-downs since the older two are only a year apart in age, and the youngest, three-year-old Tommy, is spoilt rotten by their mother.

“I can’t walk all the way to Woolworth’s in those,” Adicia protests when Sarah extends a dirty pair of socks with several holes and snags. “I’ll get blisters. My shoes are already worn enough.”

***

I hope I don’t sound beggy or desperate, but would anyone be interested in hosting me as a guest blogger, interviewing me, etc.? My recent release hasn’t done nearly as well as I was expecting (only two copies since 9 May), and I’d be very grateful to anyone who wants to help me with publicity and after the fact buzz. I hope my June release also doesn’t result in crickets chirping!

13 thoughts on “WeWriWa—Meet Adicia

  1. I so love your attention to detail! I can see all these children and their plight for decent clothing. Description is certainly your long suit. Nice 8! I’d be happy to host/interview you in June, Carrie-Anne. Can you send me an email?

    Like

  2. I second Sue’s question! You’ve done a remarkable job keeping track of a huge cast of characters, I have a difficult time dealing with just a few. I can’t imagine writing about that many characters.

    My blog doesn’t attract a high amount of traffic, but I’d be willing to host you. Good luck!

    Like

  3. The true to life detail in your snippets is always amazing. I feel as if I know this family already and I have questions about them and I’m worried about them….excellent excerpt!

    Like

    • Their black-hearted mother definitely thinks men are superior to women, and never gets over the fact that she only had three boys out of nine (almost ten) children. She even named Adicia after the Greek goddess of injustice, since she felt it were an injustice to be given a fifth girl who was also the fourth of four girls in a row.

      There’s a larger than usual age gap between Emeline and Ernestine because Mrs. Troy was pregnant in between, but lost the baby in the eighth month when she fell down the stairs. She was happy to have one less child.

      Like

  4. Everyone already wrote the comments I would have made. 🙂 ( lol ) It’s another wonderful, detail-filled snippet, Carrie-Anne. 🙂

    I’d be glad to do an interview or a have you as a guest blogger. Maybe mid to late June? Email me, please, at cypherbuss at yahoo dot com and we’ll pick a date and your preference for a blog post. 🙂

    After all, you are a hometown girl, right? 😉

    Like

  5. I can relate to the kids and the hand-me-downs (I’m the baby of eleven). But my momma loved each and every one of us, so that’s a big difference. It sounds like I’m really going to detest that woman!

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

