WeWriWa—Bazaar Surprise

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors, a weekly Sunday hop where writers share 8 sentences from a book or WIP. I’ve been sharing from Chapter 60 of my WIP, Journey Through a Dark Forest, one of the chapters set entirely in Iran.

It’s the Summer of 1941, and Georgian refugee Alina has taken pity on a severely beaten-up-looking beggar at the bazaar. She was starting to wonder about his real story when he called her by name and tried to tell her that he’s her husband Amiran, whom she hasn’t seen in four years. He says her necklace and large felt bag were the last birthday gifts he gave her (actually bought and wrapped before he was arrested, and found while Alina was packing up to leave). Now he tries to prove his story with his own physical evidence.

***

“Please, please, you have to believe me.  I know you don’t recognize me with a beard and all these scars and wounds, but I really am Amiran Koridze.  You can’t leave me so soon after I finally found you again, after I traveled so far on foot, even over the mountains, just to reclaim my beautiful wife.  You still mean more to me than ten children and all the riches in the world.” He pulls an ikon of Saint Nino out of his pocket, still sobbing hysterically. “You gave me this the last time I saw you.  I’ve taken very good care of it ever since.  It was the only tangible thing I had to remind me of you.”

Saint Nino, the woman who brought Christianity to Georgia in the 4th century.

9 thoughts on “WeWriWa—Bazaar Surprise

  1. Yep, what Millie said. I hope it’s him, and how would he have the St. Nino if he wasn’t her husband. Incredible story, Carrie-Anne. I have to read it. You have such interesting stuff on your site, like the “A primer on Russian Names”. I’ve not read much of Russian history, but Dang! Your blog makes me want to invest some time doing it. Another great 8!

    Like

  2. Fascinating time period and geography. Time period because it is a big part of making this world what it is today. Geographically because it has been at the intersection of so much human history and intrigue. Makes me want to read more.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

