WeWriWa—Bazaar Surprise

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge_4

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors, a weekly Sunday hop where writers share 8 sentences from a book or WIP. This week’s snippet comes a few lines after last week’s. Alina Petropashvili, a Georgian who’s settled in the Fereydan region of Iran to escape the Great Terror in the USSR, was on her way home from the bazaar when she saw a very beaten-up-looking man collapsing and decided to help him.

After giving him the water and food he was begging for, she noticed him looking suspiciously at her necklace and felt bag. She felt it best to get out of this situation and just find him a doctor, but he grabbed her knees and called her by name. Startled, she kneels back down and asks how he knows her.

***

The man begins weeping inconsolably. “I got you that bag and necklace for your twenty-ninth birthday, when you still lived in Kutaisi.  You are the original owner, aren’t you?  My Alína never gave away her gifts, and wouldn’t have left home without her last birthday presents from the husband who loves her so much.”

“What!  My husband is dead or trapped in prison!  What makes you think you can emotionally manipulate a young widow?” She gets up again, but he once more grabs her knees.

***

Just a heads up to regular readers:  Since I’m so close to starting to indie publish, I’m seriously contemplating changing my longtime pen name, and thus the url of this blog as well. I’ve been writing as Carrie-Anne since May of 1993, when I was just 13 years old, but I’m starting to feel that doesn’t really match the image of a serious historical writer.

If I change, it would probably be to my middle name, Ursula, plus one of my old family names. My favorite is Hartlein (a Southern German name meaning “brave/strong/hardy little one”), with other choices of Spirnak, Vargovich, Sviatko, Wickline, Neiman, Siegfried, Coukart, and Wellek. What do you think?

10 thoughts on “WeWriWa—Bazaar Surprise

  1. Knew he was going to be someone important! 🙂 I’m not sure about “emotionally manipulate,” though. She sounds angry, and rushed because she wants to get away from him, and that’s a mouthful of syllables.

    I like Hartlein, or possibly Wickline or Neiman. Something a simpler to remember and spell and say is probably better.

    Like

  2. Has he changed that much? Or is he just hopeless out of context for her? Or could he be lying? Can’t wait to find out!

    I like Ursula, too, but C.A. sounds professional as well (says the woman who doesn’t want to lose a fine writer through her poor memory skills). I do agree with Teresa that “Wellek” has a nice ring to it either way. 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness, I didn’t see that coming! what an intense snippet today…can’t wait for more of this story.

    I like Ursula Hartlein, although as Rachna said above, go with what suits *you*! And keep us posted if you make a change, so we can still find you. HUGS!

    Like

  4. Very intriguing excerpt! Whenever I hear the name Ursula, my mind immediately conjures images of a certain villain in The Little Mermaid. But I do love the name. I like Hartlein best for the surname too.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

