My fantasy husband

Moonless blogfest

Crystal Collier is releasing her e-book Moonless in paperback, and to celebrate, she’s hosting a blogfest. Her book is set in a world where arranged marriages are the norm, so she’s asking participants whom they’d beg their parents to be matched with in such a world. Co-hosts are PK HrezoTammy Theriault, and Michael Di Gesu.

I’d go right for the gold and ask for my dream man, Rudolph Valentino.

Cobra

I’ve been a huge fan of Rudy since I first saw him in motion, 17 November 2004, the night I saw Blood and Sand (1922). The next day, I watched The Sheik (1921) and The Son of the Sheik (1926). I just knew, from that first moment, that he’d become my favourite actor. I really don’t know much about current celebrities, whereas I’m extremely familiar with the Hollywood stars of my great-grandparents’ day.

My heart literally skipped a beat the first time I saw him in motion. I was also struck by what a kind, gentle, sincere face he had.

Naldi21

Rudy was such a beautiful man, both physically and on the inside. He was a sweet, gentle soul who loved animals, was very good with kids (though sadly never had any of his own), respected women (even if he might be considered benevolently sexist by modern standards), wrote poetry, was intelligent and well-read, appreciated art and the finer things in life, respected his elders and those who’d opened doors for him, had great respect for other cultures and races, and had a very strong work ethic.

Son of the Sheik

Yes, Rudy’s views on women weren’t exactly the most progressive, but I’d honestly much prefer a guy who thinks of women as “the fair/weaker sex” and wants his wife to stay home and raise children than a guy who thinks it’s okay to beat and rape women, or who thinks women don’t have any brains or rights. He was sensitive and emotional, and didn’t think it was unmanly to display emotions or have a soft side.

He once said, “The caveman method I abhor, and I do not believe that it is ever successful with the women who is worth having. Who could desire a woman taken by force? Who would gain any pleasure from loving or caressing a woman who did not give in return?”

Moran

I don’t know if I’ve said this often on this blog, but I love younger men. I’ve been into younger guys since my senior year of high school. Obviously, the guys I liked in my late teens and early twenties weren’t that much younger, but now that I’m 34, I’m free to like guys who are a decade or more younger. (A woman in her thirties who digs younger guys is called a puma, in between the bobcat and cougar.) And Rudy had that sweet, fresh, youthful look I love so much in a man.

One of the reasons I love younger men so much is because I like baby-faced men with soft facial features, the bloom of youth still clinging to them. I’ve never been into things like square jaws and huge muscles. I have immature facial features myself, and don’t look my age at all. And I love a man who’s not afraid to look beautiful or pretty. Plus, I love big brown eyes and dark hair.

terry-valentino-horsemen

It’s also said that Rudy was a great kisser. The Valentino crypt in Hollywood Forever is said to be notoriously haunted, with many visitors feeling cold spots and a creepy invisible presence. A lot of pictures taken there have also had strange lights show up. Many female visitors have also reported feeling phantom kisses.

My ex-“fiancé” didn’t know how to kiss very well, and didn’t do it until two years and seven months into our dysfunctional, co-dependent relationship. Even then, he needed to be begged to do it, and didn’t do it often. It would be nice if I could have the experience of being properly kissed at least once in this lifetime, by someone who knows how to do it, doesn’t need pleaded to do it, and understands you do that early in a relationship, not after you’ve done everything else. At least I learnt my lesson.

Rudy228

Finally, Rudy was also said to be a great cook, and that his spaghetti in particular was awesome. And we have Italian ancestry in common; I’m an eighth Italian (with a body type to prove my Southern Italian blood), and he was half Italian.

20 comments on “My fantasy husband

  1. Lady, you’ve got it all figured out. Let me tune up my time machine, and let’s get cracking! 😉

    Like

  2. Classy choice.
    Thanks for sharing.
    HMG

    Like

  3. Some wise words from Rudy. Knew you’d go with a classic.

    Like

  4. Classy pick. I should have gone for Rhett Butler. What was I thinking? Kicks Thor out the door…

    Like

  5. kitsyclare says:

    How cool is Rudolph!? I love those twenties dudes, such charisma. In fact, I am just beginning to write a story set in 1930, which is something I’ve wanted to try for a while now!

    Like

  6. He was beautiful! I haven’t seen a photo of him in such a long time that I’d forgotten how good looking her was.

    Love,
    Janie Junebug

    Like

  7. What a gorgeous man. Good choice!

    Like

  8. I’m not a watcher of old movies, but this made me reconsider! Thanks for the info!
    erica

    Like

  9. Very cool post! I love when you said you’d prefer “a guy who thinks of women as “the fair/weaker sex” and wants his wife to stay home and raise children than a guy who thinks it’s okay to beat and rape women”–AMEN sister!! Thanks for sharing this!! : )

    Like

  10. any man that can wear a little rouge for a black and white film is a keeper in my book!! newest follower from the hop! hi!

    Like

  11. A mighty fine choice. As for the ex and kissing – been there with an ex. It didn’t last. I hope you find your magical kisser soon!

    Like

  12. HI, Carrie-ann.

    Well this was a very interesting read. Who knew Valentino wasn’t just another pretty face…

    Like

  13. I’m not familiar with him, but, man, do I love his name!

    Like

  14. Morgan Shamy says:

    Okay… I am TOTALLY swooning… Rudy!!!!! Seriously. I absolutely loved all of this… 🙂

    Like

  15. He personified ‘dreamy’, didn’t he?! Very classic choice. I didn’t even think of the old stars and I definitely have some that I love. I probably would have chosen Dick Van Dyke though.

    Stopping by for the Moonless Blogfest.

    Like

  16. Now that’s a unique choice.

    Like

  17. Anonymous says:

    The biggest shooting star of the silent era, Rudolph Valentino…..

    https://www.facebook.com/groups/rudolphvalentinofans/

    Like

  18. 1920rudy says:

    I enjoyed your article. I am also a fan of Rudolph Valentino. I have a blog called All About Rudolph Valentino on WordPress…..if you are looking for more info on him….

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

