WeWriWa—Secret Meeting

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors, where participants share 8 sentences from a book or WIP. This week’s snippet comes a little after last week’s, and is primarily a rewritten version of the original 1997/1999 scene.

Cinnimin Filliard has snuck over to see Levon Kevorkian a week after they met, while his hosts are at church. She’s just revealed to him that she’s a half-orphan, having lost her father right after her tenth birthday. He then told her about missing his own parents, who are waiting to come to America. Cinni says he’s taken away her smoking appetite by reminding her of her father, and says he has to cheer her up. He ends up putting a premature end to the meeting with his response.

This snippet has been modified somewhat to fit eight sentences.

***

“I love your beautiful brown eyes.” Levon leaned very close to her and gazed into her eyes. “I can see your soul in your eyes.”

Cinnimin backed away from him. “I’m not the type of girl who kisses guys she barely knows.”

“Oh, no, that wasn’t what I wanted.  Do people really do that so quickly in America these days?  I’m sorry if I scared you or made you think the wrong thing about me.”

9 comments on “WeWriWa—Secret Meeting

  1. I would also think the wrong thing. Great snippet.

    Like

  2. I like her reaction. He seemed a little bit obvious.

    Like

  3. I like him! I would wonder about his making such a deep comment to me so soon after meeting me, but it is a beautiful sentiment. So another excellent excerpt!

    Like

  4. Kate Warren says:

    I believe him, about not intending to kiss her. Could easily be a cultural difference.

    Like

  5. Sounds like he’s still trying to adapt to American life.

    Like

  6. Sarah W says:

    Five dollars says she’ll take what he just said the wrong way. Our Cinni can be prickly! 🙂

    Like

  7. He’s trying so hard to adapt, but it can never be easy, can it? I can see how Cinni would back up a few steps. 🙂 I like that they can be honest with each other.

    Like

  8. caitlinstern says:

    Any time a person who has expressed interest in you gets that close to your face… especially with the line he said…

    I’d change the subject and back away, too. I believe Levon when he says he was clueless, though. He was just gazing into her eyes.

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

