WeWriWa—Secret Meeting

Welcome back to Weekend Writing Warriors, where participants share 8 sentences from a book or WIP. It seems I forgot to sign up last week, which I realised when my post had very low views throughout the day. This week’s scene is a continuation of last week’s.

One week after Cinnimin Filliard has met Levon Kevorkian, who’s destined to be the love of her life, she’s told her friends she’s out getting dirt on their goody-goody frenemy Adeline, who had the nerve to start a barely-populated club in opposition to their own new club, and proclaim herself president. Before she goes over to Adeline’s house while church is still in session, though, Cinni sneaks over to see Levon while his hosts are at church.

***

Cinnimin strode into the living room and plunked herself down on the davenport, motioning for him to join her. “I noticed you’re a southpaw, which I think is really special.  You’re brave to not let anyone change you.  In first grade, I saved my sort-of friend Ariania Miller when the teachers tied her arm down with rope.  I was given the gift of ambidexterity, and I wrote with my left hand just to spite them and show solidarity with Ainy.  The teachers eventually left her alone.”

Cinnimin pulled out a new box of Sobranies and lingered over them before finally selecting a turquoise cigarette and fumbling for her Katharine Hepburn lighter.  She laughed at the horrified look on Levon’s face.

***

This is an entirely new part of the original 1997/1999 scene. Both the first and second versions just had way too much rapid-fire, unrealistic dialogue, along with not being developed enough.

Ariania (Air-ee-AYN-ee-yah) is one of my characters who started out strongly based on someone I knew, and her family were also initially strongly based on my friend’s real-life family. Twenty-two years on, I’ve never told my nearly-lifelong friend that I have this character she inspired. I’ve never encountered the name Ariania anywhere else, so it’s entirely possible I invented it.

14 comments on “WeWriWa—Secret Meeting

  1. Interesting excerpt – I knew Levon was going to be horrified by the cigarettes LOL but you described it all so well! I like these characters, interesting glimpse you gave us today about the development of the story – thanks.

    Like

  2. Cinni is so bold! lol My husband (born in “49” was scolded in school for writing left-handed. They stopped short of restraining his left arm, but they tried to change it. Interesting addition! Good snippet, Carrie Anne. 🙂

    Like

    • Carrie-Anne says:

      Cinni might tell you a large part of her boldness is due to how she’s a Leo (technically a Leo-Virgo cusp, born on 23 August), one of the most fearless signs.

      Being predominantly left-handed myself, I always include at least a few lefties and ambis among my casts of characters.

      Like

  3. Love the edge of realism with the comments regarding lefties. Great 8

    Like

  4. Kate Warren says:

    I think Cinni like shocking Levon! My Dad was left-handed but an accident forced him to switch to being a rightie before he got to school-age. Sounds like he lucked out in that department or he might have had trouble with the teachers.

    Like

    • Carrie-Anne says:

      She definitely loves shocking him, and just about everyone else!

      My maternal grandma recently told me her mother was a lefty, which I never knew. I knew my late uncle was one, but not that the left-handed gene had gone back further than that. One of her mother’s brothers was unfortunately born without a right hand, so he was a lefty by default.

      Like

  5. caitlinstern says:

    It’s so hard to believe they did this to kids! I know they did, I’ve heard the stories, but my brain just doesn’t like to process it. On the other hand (*snicker*) lefties do have a lot of difficulties with a right-hand dominated world.

    Yeesh, I bet he’s going to scold her about those cigarettes! That’s not ladylike behavior at all.

    Like

    • Carrie-Anne says:

      Levy’s definitely old-fashioned about many things. Come to think of it, he sort of reminds me of Ivan of my Russian historicals—sensitive, old-fashioned, yet with a woman who’s such a tomboy and doesn’t like to live by society’s rules for women.

      I’ve heard it suggested that the reason so many of my fellow sinistrals have been such innovators, revolutionaries, scientists, artists, etc., is that we’re used to living in and adapting to a world not built for us. We know how to design solutions to get around obstacles.

      Like

  6. Sarah W says:

    My mother is a leftie, and she used to get terrible grades in handwriting, because she would switch to her right hand whenever the teacher was watching!

    Turquoise cigarette—my aunt used to smoke those! She had magenta ones, too, “to match her lipstick,” or so she said. I never knew if the colors meant anything, like special tobaccos or brands. Menthol?

    Like

    • Carrie-Anne says:

      Unfortunately, a lot of teachers even nowadays don’t realise you need to teach writing differently to righties and lefties. The right hand pulls the pen, while the left hand pushes it. You also need to form letters in different directions depending on the hand you use. If I have kids before I’m too old, I’ll be able to teach handwriting both ways, since I also know how to write with both hands. I can also write with both at the same time, which is probably one of the most useless skills I have!

      I’d assume Sobranie and other cigarette companies had colored lines to appeal to women customers. A colored cigarette could’ve been seen as more ladylike than an ordinary tan cigarette.

      Like

  7. I can write with both hands too, but mostly use my left to write, and use my right for most everything else. Love that you added a leftie here. 🙂

    Like

Share your thoughts respectfully

